We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay near the highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 North Raney, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Effingham
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay near the highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family was traveling across country and needed a place to stay that was right off the highway so we could get back on the road bright and early the next morning. I've never stayed at a Country Inn but the price was so much better than at The Hampton Inn right next door and we got a room with two queen-sized beds as opposed to two doubles anywhere else. We have three kids and appreciated the bigger beds so everyone was more comfortable! The hotel offers a free hot breakfast, but not until 7 am on the weekends. We wanted to be on the road at 6:30 am the next day so we could not take advantage of it. I would definitely stay at a Country Inn again. The room was clean, large and the check-in staff was efficient and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
36
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was friendly but the person at the front desk said he was alone and seemed to be overwhelmed by the amount of business. This seemed strange since it was a Saturday night in June - prime vacation travel season. Room was OK - looked clean but smelled kind of musty. Pool was nice but was way to crowded because of it being a Saturday night. Breakfast was good. We might give this property another shot if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spottsville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My parent were traveling on I-57 when they was in a terrible car accident we live 2.5 hours away my husband found this hotel when we was still at the ER and he booked 2 rooms and told then wasnt sure what time we would show up they said it was fine.I dont remember much but what i do remember it was very clean beds were very comfortable I think they offer breakfast we stayed 2 nights it was easy to find everyone was very nice.I believe we was close to walmart and food places. Thank you so much country inn for taking care of us during this terrible time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room was very comfortable and clean and quiet off the highway, The breakfast was also good and not limited to high carb bread items.The front desk people were very nice. They were almost sold out so I suggest to reserve a room if in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have never stayed at a Country Inn - usually more than what I want to spend for a night on the road. Booking through priceline however was well worth it. Rooms are expensively decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was huge, included bacon and many other options. In a room facing the interstate but could barely hear the highway. Room darkening curains worked very well, I was surprised when I opened them and it was already light. Very nice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when visiting Effingham for a show at the Effingham Performance Center. The location was great. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was good. There was a nice variety of food to choose from. The breakfast room was a little small but that was our only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent the night on our way through. Very comfy bed with great pillows. CLEAN! Pool was was great - also very clean with no heavy chlorine smell. Pretty decent breakfast, too. We would definitely return. Oh, and did I mention the freshly baked cookies in the lobby?

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Address: 1200 North Raney, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#3 Business Hotel in Effingham
#4 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham Hotel Effingham
Country Inn Effingham
Effingham Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.