We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 North Raney, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Effingham
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What more could you ask for? My husband and I were traveling through the state and chose to stop for a good night's sleep. Even though it was during the Holiday Season, John at the front desk was extremely jovial. John and the "trainee" made an easy check in process. A Christmas Tree, garland with snowmen, and other amenities in the lobby added to the warmth of the Christmas season, Our room appeared to be clean, with good linens on the bed, and thick towels in bathroom. We came back to the lobby to check the internet and were welcomed by many other travelers in the lobby reading newspaper, waiting on a variety of complimentary cookies to come out of the oven, and drinking coffee. John doesn't miss a thing and was aware of everyone in the lobby and assisting all with their needs. Even though the "breakfast bar" was extremely busy the next a.m., it was well stocked and the lady working the bar kept it immaculate. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
37
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We have been staying here for years on our trips from OH to MO. It's always very clean and the rooms are nice. There are always fresh-baked cookies in the lobby and a very good hot breakfast. The pool is warm with a hot tub. John who is usually at the desk every night is very nice and welcoming and we even had a breakfast employee offer to hold my infant son once so I could get my breakfast. Always a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were made to feel very welcomed the moment we walked in the door. Room was clean, comfortable and very nice. Location was easy on/easy off the interstate and there's a great restaurant/lounge right across the parking lot. This is the only place I'll ever stay when in Effingham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I usually stay in HIE or Hampton Inns, and this facility was probably one notch down from my typical stay. It would have ranked higher, but my room (and I believe much of the hotel) had a distinct odor, which was less than pleasant. That plus a breakfast area that was about 85 degrees made it less than excellent. I would consider staying here again, although it appears a new Hampton or HIE is being built, so i would check into that first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I chose this place, leaning heavily on the Trip Advisor review. I was not disappointed. The room was large, clean, and nicely furnished. The price was reasonable for what we got. I heard practically no noise in the room while there. The breakfast was very good, although not quite up to the level I have had at other Country Inn & Suites. The hot food was only warm. The counter at the breakfast was laid out a little odd with the high traffic areas lumped together so the people tended to do the same.
Good internet speed. Smaller lobby than usual. Lobby size didn't matter too much since I didn't sleep there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed bfore BUT, as I stay in hotels everynight of the week in a different city every night I just have to tell you all that they amazed me by the Hotel decorations for Fall. Truely the best fall welcoming display I have seen at any hotel in 6 states! GREAT JOB! Staff was very friendly, room was comfortable and clean. Would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: If your looking for a quiet nights sleep on a comfortable night and would like to have the window op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, tx
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Arrived around 10 pm in Effingham after driving 600 miles that day from upper penisula Michigan. Was ready for a great rest. Many of the more economical hotels in the area were full as I had not made reservations, but this was perfect. It was a little more expensive than some but well worth it. You know what they say, "You get what you pay for." Slept well. Used all four pillows in the room with 2 queens...needed to elevate my feet from sitting behind the wheel all day. You won't be disappointed at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Address: 1200 North Raney, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#3 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town house and condominium style rooms with full kitchenette, washer/dryer. All king beds with pull out sofa-sleeper. A/C and free local/long-distance calling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham Hotel Effingham
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Country Inn Effingham
Effingham Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.