We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're into corvettes, this is for you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mid America Motorworks, My Garage Museum

Mid America Motorworks, My Garage Museum
17082 N US Highway 45, Effingham, IL 62401-6764
(217) 540-4200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Effingham
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you're into corvettes, this is for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This place is great for anyone who is into corvettes. The museum is full of old corvettes, there are also some VW there as well. It isn't an all day trip, my husband and I were in and out in about an hour. If you need someplace to pass some time though, and you want to check out some really nice cars, this is your place!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're into cars and specifically Corvettes (or VW's) this is a fun place to visit. There is an excellent collection of Corvettes and a good exhibit of old air-cooled military vehicles (sorry, no more info on this part). Great gift shop with tons of shirts, hats, and other souvenirs - perfect gifts for the Corvette lover! Definitely worth a stop!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Cool place. Effingham is a great friendly town. Great place to live or just visit!!! Mid America Motorworks is an awesome place. Check out the Corvette fest every year!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“For the Corvette lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a lot of various aged Corvettes and memorabilia. They can host catered "finger food" type receptions. Very clean and fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome collection of Corvettes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Mike Yager's personal collection of unique and rare Corvettes is superb! Even if you are only a casual fan of the American love affair with the automobile, you will be impressed and awed with the significance of the particular Corvettes in Mike's "My Garage" Museum. And the admission is FREE! This display rotates on a regular basis, so one can usually see 2 or 3 "new" cars. Easy to find on Route 45 just a mile or so north of Effingham IL. Interstates 70 & 57 take you almost right to the front door. There is an actual old time gas station which was relocated to the grounds and makes for a fantastic photo opportunity. There is also a "Speedway" locale which serves the same purpose. Many Corvette memorabilia, clothes & books are available (many at discounted prices because.........Mike is just a really nice guy!)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid America Motorworks, My Garage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mid America Motorworks, My Garage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid America Motorworks, My Garage Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.