We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've stayed at.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Effingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Effingham to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Effingham
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1205 North Keller Drive, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Effingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've stayed at.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Blood on the walls. Untouchable remote I set my clean clothes on the floor and picked up dirt and dust.the hotel across the parking lot might be a little but more expensive. So if you can't stay there sleep in your car

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ P, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Effingham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are really sorry that you had bad experience with us. we would love to hear from our guest. We will make sure and fix those issues if you tell us in detail So someone else will not suffer from that. Again really sorry for that. Hope you will give us one more chance. Hope to see you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    4
    28
See reviews for
13
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

About 7 pm we exited 1-57 at Effingham (I know; sounds like a bad joke when you say it out loud) and searched for a place where we could park at our door. Rodeway Inn is right off the highway and had a pleasant, English-speaking local clerk. Pool and hot tub broken and no King rooms available, but we got a decent, clean room for $48. Not beautiful or fancy, but fine for us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ P, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Effingham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for you time to write a review for our hotel. We always try to make our guest's stay comfortable all the time. We try to provide best services as much as we can. Look forward to see again in the future!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I understand the problems you can have with an old property but for heaven sakes...Does anyone know how to clean a room? Disgusting handprints, stuff on the bathroom walls that I hate to think what it could be, lack of lighting in rooms a disgusting pool a nonfunctional hot tub. With all that, I can see the owners are greedy and don't have any pride or dignity for their property. Just make it clean. How hard is that? Another Patel hotel...Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Very deceptive and filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ P, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Effingham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are really sorry that you had bad experience with us. we would love to hear from our guest. We will make sure and fix those issues if you tell us in detail So someone else will not suffer from that. Again really sorry for that. Hope you will give us one more chance. Hope to see you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We begin with the one nice thing we have to say about this place: <the guy working at the desk, Mr Willie was very nice. But look at this message: Dear Mr. or Mrs.

I found the webpage of your hotel in Effingham, Il on the internet, which contained excellent and attractive advertisement for your establishment, and decided to stay with my wife there on August 17th and 18th. Our stay was dissapointing and we feel misled and hurt, frustrated in our plans to relax, and fooled by the false advertisement. Accordingly, I ask to be compensated in some way, so that I won't feel the need to take other steps to let others know of our experience, as described below:
1. The heated pool contained dirty water, with no circulation and did not have the advertised heating./ 2. the Jacuzzi was not working and was in need of repairs./ 3. the bathtub in the room we were staying in (136) was dirty, slippery, with mildew under the floormat, disgusting, I myself had to take the hyginiec towels and clean the bathtub so that we could take a bath./ 4. there were bugs in the bathroom. / 5. the bathroom door didn't close. / 6. the room smelled bad.

Sincerely,

TOMAS & RUTE DE SA'

Room Tip: .Rooms on the back side are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ P, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Effingham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are really sorry that you had bad experience with us. we would love to hear from our guest. We will make sure and fix those issues if you tell us in detail So someone else will not suffer from that. Again really sorry for that. Hope you will give us one more chance. Hope to see you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived, chose this place because they had a pool for the grandkids to play in before bed. No one was at the desk, a note said to pick up the phone and dial "O". 5 minutes later, a clerk comes from the hotel next door, (which they also owned). Got situated in the room, didn't really look that clean... then the grandkids went to the pool... it was cloudy, didn't really look clean. Advertised a hot tub, which did not look like it had been in operation in months. When I tried to log on to the wireless internet connection, I could not connect, even though the guy at the counter said that the router was just above me, a couple doors down. Not a good experience overall at all...

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you're in Effingham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ P, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Effingham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Upon driving home FROM GETTING MARRIED, we got tired and needed a place to lay our weary heads. And so begins our night of nastiness (and not the the honeymoon kind).

Let me begin with the one NICE thing I have to say about this place - the guy working at the desk was very nice. Beyond that, I'd like to know how the #$%& this place stays open??? Suckers like me, apparently. This is what I got for $68:

First thing I noticed was that the white door was nearly gray from Lord only knows what. How can anyone's hands be that dirty unless they're changing oil outside? Also, the walls next to the bed and the sink were filthy as well. I found a hair on the pillow and stains on the sheets as well as on a hand towel that was hanging next to the sink. The courtesy shampoo bottle was USED (by the time I saw this I had already resigned myself to not showering there). The chair there had some sort of stain on it that I don't even want to think about. I can only assume that this a party/hooker hotel. And there was a hole in the bathroom wall. I'm sorry, but I've stayed in less expensive hotels that were WAY nicer. All I expect is a clean room, not a petri dish. I felt dirty after I left and now that I'm home, feel the need to get tested for some airborne stds. I would've rather slept on the floor of a bathroom at a Love's truck stop because at least they clean!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ P, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Effingham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This property needs major upgrading. Lobby is dark and grungy, it took 5-10 minutes for a simple check in. The room was filthy-walls were black, holes in the sheets. Room had no amenities to speak of. Only stayed for a few hours to rest while traveling. Not even worth it for that. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Effingham

Address: 1205 North Keller Drive, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Effingham 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Effingham Travel Lodge
Effingham Travelodge
Travelodge Effingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.