We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate fish dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Raintree Restaurant
1809 W Fayette Ave, Exit 159 Next to the Best Western, Effingham, IL 62401
217-347-5336
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 56 Restaurants in Effingham
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Adequate fish dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had the fish dinner buffet, some of which was very good. One of our party thought the crab legs were just mediocre.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friday night seafood buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

On the buffet- salad bar, clam chowder (white cream based), fried- popcorn shrimp, clam strips, cod, perch?, frog legs. They also had large crab legs, mussels, baked whitefish, peel and eat shrimp, stuffed crab shells, hot pasta dish, hot vegetable mix, two desserts.
The only negative I can say is a result of it being a buffet- they run out of items and in the rush to restock the quality suffers. Example- they ran out of crab legs, they made some fresh and restocked the tray- they were so hot that when I got them back to my table they started to dry out and you could hear the shells cracking. The meat inside was ruined as there was no moisture left.
There are some notable items that stand out- mussles, frog legs, and the crab legs.
Overall they have a very good selection and price is very reasonable.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Salmon in Effingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

By far the best Salmon I've ever had. I had the orange glazed and it was absolutely wonderful. Friendly service and great atmosphere... We sat next to the fireplace.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good for snack if staying in hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I can only give this an average because we just ordered some food for carry-out to our room at the Best Western. We had cheese sticks, jalepeno poppers and chicken gizzards. Portions were good, food was fried perfectly.( Did not have that old grease taste)Service was fast and friendly. Everything tasted real good and good prices.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raintree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Raintree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.