We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent But I'd Rather Go To El Maguey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Fonda Mexican Restaurant
2310 Troy Rd, Edwardsville, IL 62025-2584
618-655-0399
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 104 Restaurants in Edwardsville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Decent But I'd Rather Go To El Maguey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is an OK mexican place but the offerings from El Maguey are better. The best thing about this place is it is reasonably priced, especially at lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just OK, better Mexican food elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food here is just OK, tends to be more on the bland side. It's economical, but there are better Mexican restaurants in Edwardsville to choose from.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worden, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great Mexican food, very reasonably price. Wide selection of choices with an excellent lunch menu. Very good salsa and chips for a starter and drink are priced right.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican restaurant in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I go to LaFonda about once a week, on average. We recommend their dishes with steak or chicken, rather than the hamburger. Fajitas and chimis are really good, and so are their chicken soft tacos and cheesy rice. Service is always fast and friendly. They were the first of the sit-down (non-fast food) Mexican restaurants to open in Edwardsville, and in our opinion are still the best!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

this place is simple and to the point. The food and drinks are really good. On top of that they are very very fast. This is one of my favorite restaurants to dine out at in the area for Mexican food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.