We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Date Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1818 Chophouse

1818 Chophouse
210 S. Buchanan, Edwardsville, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 107 Restaurants in Edwardsville
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Staunton, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Date Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Enjoyable atmosphere for a dinner with my husband. Not crowded when we arrived but packed with several people waiting. We both had NY Strip dinner. Both steaks cooked perfectly with great flavor, mashed potatoes were delicious. House salad was a seasonal salad with strawberries and nuts. I liked it but was not what my husband would like so he had to order a different salad with his dinner. Staff was friendly and service was quick. Glad to have a local steakhouse we enjoyed. We will recommend to friends and go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a nice lunch with friends at Craft Chophouse. I will have to say that is was not crowded and the service was just ok. It took forever, just to get refills on water. I would go back because the taste of the food certainly out weighed the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Enjoyable atmosphere to have dinner with friends. Had a very nice meal and a wonderful evening. Nice staff, friendly and knowledgeable with regard to menu and wine selection.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo area
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Second Time Around a Bit Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I went for our anniversary; mainly because we had a gift certificate that barely covered one entree. I had the filet and he had the strip (I believe). My steak was done to perfection and had an enormous amount of flavor for a filet. In fact, it had more flavor than my husband's steak. The mashed potatoes were very good, also. The salad was fairly small, but it did have good greens. We also had the creamed spinach (one serving) which was an extra a la carte side. I had one glass of wine and he had a beer. The service was OK. I was hoping they might give us a little suprise dessert for our anniversary, but that did not happen. If you are a huge steak fan then I guess this would work for you. I just am not a fan of paying $24-$36 for a steak that I can cook at home. I would rather have something I do not eat much such as seafood, so my review may be biased. Give it a try and tell Trip Advisor what you thought.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good restaurant overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my choice for my birthday this year. I always like to go somewhere where it is special, and this lived up to my expectations. We started out with a mixed greens salad, which was good, but not spectacular. My husband ordered a fillet mignon and pronounced it excellent. I was a little disappointed in my sea bass, however. I know it is tricky cooking fish, but, getting it right is their job afterall, and it was on the dry side--a little too overbaked. I enjoyed it anyway, but I would have enjoyed it even more if it had been cooked correctly. For dessert, we had a slice of carrot cake which was very, very good, and had excellent presentation. We'll be back, but I don't feel like we need to hurry back--Edwardsville has a lot of really good restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1818 Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to 1818 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1818 Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.