We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Roslin Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thorpe Bay
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed as a surprise birthday treat for my husband. Been to Thorpe Bay many times but not stayed over before. Check in was swift and efficient. Young receptionist was welcoming and friendly. Booked a double room, which overlooked car park, and I asked if I could pay extra for a sea view, after we had seen the room, but all were full. The young lady upgraded us to an executive room, which was lovely. Very clean and fresh, and new looking. Great comfortable bed. The restaurant was over price, in my opinion, but there were plenty of people eating there. Hotel decor really nice, and well thought out, everywhere spotlessly clean.Breakfast great, juices, yoghurts, pastries, fresh fruit, and full english, ate most of them and all were excellent. Will stay again when we are next down Thorpe Bay. Well done Roslin Hotel!
Eat at the restaurant on the sand called "Hundreds", great fresh fish, tapas, etc and an enthusiastic chef who clearly enjoys what he does, and is really friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, General Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at The Roslin Beach Hotel I am delighted that you had such a great stay and would like to thank you for leaving such a positive review . We look forward to welcomming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    120
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
124
222
27
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

i was only staying at the roalin for one night only but i was placed next to a room full of people that decided to have a 'swingers' party and perform an orgy. even though i was invited to take part it was a first to me and i thoroughly enjoyed the experience THANK YOU ROSLIN HOTEL your staff also had a good time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed in the hotel one night on buisness in the area.
the evening food was very good and well cooked, as was the breakfast.
However My room was meant to be an executive sea room, the room was well stocked with goodies and freebies, but was let down by the bathroom, a tiny little place with not enough room to swing a mouse, never mind a cat.
Big question would i return, probably as the food was worth it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombier, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very friendly reception. Well-appointed room (executive double with sea view), Excellent breakfast choice. Also had dinner (perfectly grilled rib-eye steak with home-made chips) and a light lunch (grilled plaice fillet with boiled potatoes) - not a gastronomic experience but good plain cooking - efficient and friencly service. Overall, a good place to stay on all counts.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose an executive room with a sea view as I understand from a colleague that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a wonderful treat this was, my Daughter and I both had Manicures which were done very profesionally. The Spa itself is only a few months old but is of the highest spec all mod cons included. The price list seemed on a par with most other places but the girl who did our manicure new her stuff and no corners were cut. They also use good products OPI for nails and Elemis for all skin treatments.
My Daughter could not believe the size of the afternoon Tea it had a small cheese tartlet, a finger roll and 4 finger sanswiches each, followed by a scone cream and jam and 8 cakes.I cannot tell a lie it was beautiful and we ate the lot !!

It was bank holiday when we went and the place was very busy but we were served quick and with a lovely smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed the Bank Holiday on the 5th May and booked a family room (2 adults & 1 four year old). The beds were extremely comfortable and our daughter had a sofa bed (she slept from 9pm till 9am so it must have been comfy). Our room was ready on our arrival which was around 1pm and the room and bathroom were immaculate and nicely decorated.

This was the perfect location for us, 20 minutes walk to Adventure Island with the hustle of Southend but calm and relaxing back at the hotel. It was directly opposite the beach for our little one to play in the morning (glad we put her bucket and spade in the boot the day before). Breakfast was plentiful and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The view from our room was the car park but as we were only sleeping in the room we were not bothered by this.

We also had the added bonus of this being the best bank holiday weather ever as the sun shone for the full 2 days! We will definately be back for another visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Roslyn twice before. Once in a small double and once in an executive double. The executive double with sea view was very nice. The small double was as it sounds, small but then you accept that as that is what you book. This time we booked a standard double as we wanted the extra space. This was our first disappointment. The room was small, in my view as small if not smaller that then small double we had had before. The bathroom was ridiculous. It had a shower, toilet and hand basin and just about enough room to stand up and that was it. I questioned whether we had been given a standard room and was told it was ??
We returned from an evening out and decided to have a drink in the bar before bed. We sat down and waited for a good 10 mins with staff walking around us and not asking if we would like a drink. Eventually I asked someone if we could have a drink which we ordered. It took a while to arrive and the waiter nearly spilled my wife's wine all down her. Imagine our surprise when we received our bill the next morning to find that they had charged us 10% service charge for having the drink brought to out table. I have never been charged service for being served in a bar before!
Having gone to bed, we were in room 2, whew we're then kept awake until the early hours by staff letting the office door behind reception slam shut every few seconds until just after 1am I phoned reception and complained. After that it did quieten down.
Finally at breakfast, the service was poor. We had to ask for things at least twice before they arrived and the attitude seemed to be a "cold not care less" attitude.
This is a real shame as this could be a very nice hotel but they are letting things slide and trying it on with silly things like the service charge in the bar, on top of prices that are not cheap.
Overall I think the attitude of the staff needs to improve. Even when I checked out and said our stay had not been good they really were not that bothered.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roslin Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.