We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Roslin Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thorpe Bay
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed one night whilst visiting family in Southend over Christmas and were very pleased with our choice for this hotel. It is very comfortable and the breakfast was first class. We received a warm welcome at Reception even though we arrived late and were shown to our room which was very nicely decorated and in the morning we discovered it had a very nice sea view. Will stay there again when we next visit our family in Southend

Room Tip: We chose a Sea View room which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    120
    36
    12
    14
See reviews for
123
222
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times and always enjoyed it. This weekend we stayed in the Mulberry Suite. This is a large room with an outside terrace overlooking the estuary.The view is an endless source of interest, restful scenes of changing tides, boats and a soft English mist to wake up to. There is excellent seating in the suite, arm chairs, sofa and good TV and good lighting.
The warm bathroom has a large walk in shower seperate from the bathtub, towelling robes and plenty of towels.A tea tray, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and fridge make life easy.We enjoyed a substantial buffet breakfast with fried eggs cooked to order in the sea view dining room.We did not have dinner as we were visiting a friend's house but noted that on Friday nights a fresh fish menu that sounds delicious is offered.Why bother with Claridges when there is the Roslin.

Room Tip: The suites are good value, roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the first time this past weekend for one night and really loved the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff at the Roslin. However, it was noticeable as soon as we stood at Reception on arrival that the temperature of the hotel public areas was way too hot. As we climbed the stairs to the first floor the temperature got progressively hotter and on entering our room it was stifling! We had to turn the radiator off completely and open the windows. There was an air con unit in our room but I fail to understand why this should be used in January! Unfortunately the temperature of the room remained hot and stuffy throughout the night even with the windows wide open and neither of us could sleep. Again in the morning the restaurant terrace where we had breakfast was too hot and when I mentioned it to the Receptionist on checking out she didnt seem to grasp that it was a problem??!

I hope they fix this as the hotel, room, food and atmosphere were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If there was there a gold Medal awarded to the best hotel in Essex, surely the "Roslin" would be the winner.

After visiting this hotel on many occasions my wife and I belive it's got it all, surperd food, relaxing atmosphere and everything you need to enjoy, a great evening.

Mr and Mrs Rayner.

Room Tip: All rooms are well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel i have been to before,my sister and i stayed there in april 2012 and this time,it was with my hubby.The views of the Thames estuary are great.Waking up to the sight of the sea and little boats laying on the mud flats,may not be everyones cup of tea,but for us,who live in a town,this is a must.
The hotel lived up to expectations and was lovely,clean from inside to out.The beds were so comfy,we both had a good nights sleep and breakfast was superb.
Food in the bar and restaurant is lovely,a bit pricey,but you get what you pay for.As in the caption,Well worth it.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: What can i say? It is really a lovely hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed two nights for new year - business centre rooms good value at this time and we had a great stay, staff very helpful, lovely views over the water, highly recommended. We stayed as a couple, and although we were not attending the New Year's Eve
Function at the hotel we were not at all disturbed by it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed on the 29TH DEC 2012.
" OOOOH WHAT A NIGHT" !!!!!
as soon as we arrived at the door and had our bags carried in it started.
Check in was smart and quick.
Suite was great.
Then we found "DAMON" our barman for the night!! He is great fun and nothing was a problem.
MARCIN was fanstasic with the cocktails.
Table booked for 8pm, all was prepared and trouble free (really makes the night).
LYNNE had a WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY.
A very big "THANK YOU!!" to all at the "ROSLIN"
The first of many nights I can promise.
See you all soon,
Peter Crouch and BIRTHDAY GIRL LYNNE.

Room Tip: 502 was great, next time we want MARLBOROUGH!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roslin Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.