We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roslin Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Roslin Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I really like the Roslin Beach as the rooms are all excellent with a warm welcome from all the staff.

Only criticism is no Decaf for breakfast! Really let the rest of the hotel down

Location on the beach front is a bonus though

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    152
    46
    18
    14
See reviews for
145
261
33
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent the night at this hotel on 24th Nov 12, what a lovey hotel from the moment we arrived the service we received was fantastic very friendly but not ott! Professional & helpful. We ate in the restaurant the waiter & barman were very well organised & never made you feel neglected, nor were they pushy, we had the venison & it was lovely & reasonably priced.

Next morning same exceptional service & breakfast was clean & very well cooked, as you can guess we were very pleased & will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

it was a nice day out for me and my partner relaxing away from work and university at list for a day on soughtend on sea the room view was calming it was nice to be inside in the warm the weather outside wasnt so good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We're just back from a weekend at The Roslin – had originally planned on staying for one night, but they upgraded us when we arrived to a bigger family room that was available, and the staff were so welcoming that we immediately felt at home, and decided to stay an extra night.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. They have obviously worked hard on every aspect of the experience, from food to decor to service, and every detail is spot on. They genuinely care about making your stay as enjoyable as possible. They cater as well for business travellers and romantic breaks as they do for families. It seemed as if there were lots of locals in the bar and restaurant, too, which had a great buzz to it on Friday evening, when fresh, local fish was the highlight of the menu. Our meal was outstanding, starting with Maldon oysters and Champagne and ending with a trio of exceptional desserts.

We could not have had a more enjoyable weekend. The hotel its situated opposite an award-winning stretch of beach on a beautiful part of the Essex coast. We can't wait to return in warmer months to take advantage of the heated outdoor terrace and enjoy more of those beautiful views. It's such a delight to find a hotel like this that has just got it absolutely right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent hotel with an excellent (not cheap, push the boat out) restaurant, friendly staff, bigger than last time we visited, now with a gym and residents lounge. Beware of small rooms, these have small beds (4ft) pushed against the wall, with ridiculously small wash basins. Normal sized rooms are fine with a lot bigger beds (5ft & wider). Excellent breakfasts with an excellent view of the estuary. Plenty of free parking, although this can get a bit restricted on a Saturday night, a lot of locals use the restaurant. Hard pressed to use another word other than excellent.

Room Tip: This last visit there was an offer of a smaller room which seemed quite good, so we thought "wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanmiloe, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed in the Roslin several times over the years and each time I have gone back it has got bigger and better. It has been transformed into a fine hotel completed with lovely modern improvements and has been decorated to a very high standard.
I have got to stay it has become a first class hotel with spacious rooms, with a large comfortable bed and all the ammenities you require, free wifi that is always essential on a business trip.
The staff are first class and are very friedly and I have got to say they are always there to help.
The buffet breakfast is lovely with all that you require for a kick start in the morning.
It also has a lovely restaurant that looks over the sea front and I have got to say the view complements the exquisit food.
Parking is not a problem with their spacious parking spaces at the back of the hotel.
I have nothing negative to say, the hotel is a real gem, well done to the staff and management.

Room Tip: Try the gym, its worth it to burn off all those extra calories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner at the Roslin.
The staff are very polite and helpful.
Surroundings very good and importantly excellent food.
As I left I thought what a change there was nothing to complain about.
Try the Frangipan Tart if you are not too full.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roslin Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.