We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Use Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay
213 Eastern Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Thorpe Bay
Redcar NorthEast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would Use Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Good location. Large room (112 overlooked car park), nice and clean. All staff very friendly. Halfway House is convenient but not cheap. No lift but not too far to carry cases and receptionist offered to carry cases for my 82 year old mother and me, but I managed by myself. We only stayed for 2 nights but would definately use again if returning to the area.
Well done all staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    101
    23
    12
    12
See reviews for
80
85
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The room was spotless, large family room, Staff were very friendly and helpful 24/7
Best bed weve ever slept in.
The half way house restaurant next door to hotel was friendly and nice cooked breakfast and evening meals, However carvery shuts at 9pm on sunday night beware.

Recommend the Amina Indian restaurant oppsite . southend central station clifftown road.

Room Tip: room 102 gave you a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The staff here are really good. Friendly and helpful, making you feel genuinely welcome. The rooms are immaculate and the parking is really handy given all the restrictions on the seafront. This was the second time we'd stayed there and we will be back. The only drawback is the price of the drinks and food at the Halfway next door. For an evening meal you can't beat the Great Wall chinese restaurant a few doors further along.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

As normal, Premier Inn at it's best, nice quiet hotel, great location even if it is 15 mins walk to the main town,
the pub right out side the hotel serves the breakfasts for the guests
We have spent many hours sitting in the sun in the pub garden, enjoying the view
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagolska, General Manager at Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
I am so pleased you had a great stay with us. I will be more than happy if you come back and stay with us again in the nearest future. Summer is here and Pub’s garden is open to enjoy the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We had a short stay in a premier inn in southend in June 2011,
A lovely clean and friendly hotel, The beds were so comfortable didnt want to get up ( lol )
You could not ask for any more at the there low price rooms. Its true it dose what it says on the tin, The only thing that let it down you had to go next door for your breakfast on our last morning it was raining so we got wet going for breakfast. I would give the breakfast a miss it was not good value and food was dried out and staff none exsistant.. Which was a shame because it ruied a good weekend break..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagolska, General Manager at Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. I would like to say our mattresses are best quality at the market and all Premier Inn’s provide the same supplier. I am sorry to hear your weekend was ruined because of breakfast. In Southend there are few great places to have a breakfast not far from our hotel. We will be more than happy to recommend it next time. I can assure your feedback will be past on to the restaurant. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

we took our little girl age 10 to southend to visit adventure island when we arrived the receptionist was very friendly and our room was beautiful spotless the bed was huge!!! and very comfy did get very hot at night even with fan and windows open but was still lovley hotel only thing if your walking to adventure island its about half hour very long can get bus there witch id advise and i wouldnt expect a cheap meal next door if you have kids very expensive overall experience of this hotel is lovley and i would be going back again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagolska, General Manager at Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
I would like to express my happiness of your response. All the comments from guests are really important for me. As a parent I would expect from the hotel to treat my child as a valued guest and that is what you always get in Thorpe Bay. Our rooms are spacious and always checked for cleanliness by staff on duty. I am pleased we have delivered high standards during your trip. I will be looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This hotel has huge rooms and American size beds. The staff are very freindly and very helpful for information. The only downside would be there is no air con, but fans are provided, curtains kept closed and sheets instead of duvets are available. The Inn is right next door to a restaurant chain and about 1 mile or a Number 9 bus ride to the pier. Great seafront location and lovely for walks. Would use again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagolska, General Manager at Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay). At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves in exceeding guests’ expectations at every opportunity and I am really happy we done this again. We offer to our guest’s wild list of restaurants where children are welcomed and prices are competitive. I will be more than happy to provide it next time. regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay

Address: 213 Eastern Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel Southend-On-Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea - Thorpe Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.