We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for almost any occasion. Good food, good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granite City Food And Brewery

Granite City Food And Brewery
230 Conference Center Drive, East Peoria, IL 61611
309 699-8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in East Peoria
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place for almost any occasion. Good food, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I like this place. I've been here multiple times. Bunch, lunch, dinner, drinks...there all good. The staff is always friendly. One downside, is that you may have a long wait if you go during the weekend brunch buffet time. My favorite entree is the meatloaf, and I haven't ever ordered anything that I didn't like. Of course, they make their own beer and they have different seasonal ones, so if you are a fan of beer, there is always something new to try. My one complaint is that the outside patio is not smoke free.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Manger was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I have been here before and had always been happy with our visit but last night was something special. We were there a little later then normal and they seemed to be very busy. It took a moment for the server to come over because she had a large party but the manager DJ stopped by and got our drinks for us. We could tell the server was overwhelmed when DJ returned with our drinks he walked us through the menu and pointed out his favorites. I don't know if it was because we looked hungry but DJ took our order. Then Brenna was able to stop by the table she was very sweet. DJ and Brenna both stopped by multiple times before we left, our drinks never were empty and i never had to sit and stare at a dirty dish (i hate it when restaurants don't clear our dirty plates) On our way out DJ was holding the door for us and thanked us for coming in. I couldn't believe that a restaurant that was so busy with people in the dining room, bar, and patio that we could feel so welcomed and special. DJ you did a great job and we will be back because of you.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

DJ, the manager, did a great job of meeting our needs. there were 7 of us in the party, and he resolved a minor issue we experienced. As long as DJ works at Granite City Peoria, this restaurant will do well. Chicken Burrito was great. Kids loved the fries... huge portions.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Servers are unprofessional!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 via mobile

The servers come in and group together at the bar area to talk loudly about how drunk they got the night before, even if if customers are there in earshot. Our server had a stain the size of a basketball on her shirt. It looked like she wiped her but with it and put it on. Why would a manager allow her to work her shift with her shirt like that? Nobody is going to be hungry after seeing a big, brown stain on the servers shirt!!!! If you look like crap that's all that people are going to expect anything but nastiness the rest of the night. Your nit even giving the kitchen staff a chance!!!!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Granite City has a great atmosphere, nice location, and great patio! We have had very hit or miss experiences. Our first experience we walked out in poor spirits - the waitress never came back after our food came and we had to flag down a manager for help and to receive our check. GC is chain style food and it's not bad, nice portions, but a bit pricey. We have had a couple of great meals, a couple misses, and never anything horrible. GC tends to fall in the ok catagory - the meals are generally pretty ok. The biggest flaw that I can see at Granite City is the service - the service is horrible! Only once have we had a server not disappear on us. On that occasion - our friend told the manager how bad our last visit had been and he made sure the table was attended to and well taken care of. I think if the service improves at GC - we will go back on occasion.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food And Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Granite City Food And Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite City Food And Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.