We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria

Save Saved
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Mariners Way, East Peoria, IL 61611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase Discount
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in East Peoria
2 reviews
“Real nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the premium room with a kitchen, living room, enclosed porch and huge bathroom with whirlpool tub.

The good: Room was much Better than we expected, had to be 1,000 square feet. Granite counter tops in the kitchen. Large LCD TV mounted above a gas fireplace. Plenty of seating if you're taking a family of 5. Huge 2 person(or 3 person if that's your style) whirlpool tub. Secluded at the very end of the hotel.


The bad: They had dishes in the kitchen, some of which were dirty from the last guests. We washed them, not a huge deal. Wife saw a centipede in the bathroom(lol). The door didn't seem very safe. It locked like all hotel rooms, but it was a dual door and the only thing holding it closed after you lock it is a latch at the top of the secondary swinging door.

Overall great value and experience, would patronize again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    35
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
38
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had the extreme misfortune of attending a wedding shower, reception dinner and wedding at this establishment. Each event was worse than the other. I will start with the shower, the reserved hall for the shower was basically an empty guest room, sooo small most people had to stand in the hall. The staff at check in was rude and in the morning when we went down to breakfast there was no food left, it states breakfast till 10 it was 9:30 we asked the breakfast staff if they were bringing out more food and was told NO we were not planning on it. When we went to front desk and complained, they brough out more food which was bland and disgusting. The weekend of the wedding we showed up rooms were not ready, people had to double up and wait for rooms to be cleaned, staff was rude and unaccommodating the hall for the rehearsal dinner was again an empty guest room barely able to fit everyone, the staff was uncoordinated nobody seemed to know what they were doing. Wedding day more guest show up, again rooms are not ready and guests are met with rude service. The wedding coordinator had no clue as to what she was doing, guests were befuddled as to what to do. At the end of the night people were told to go to their rooms or police would be called, police were called and basically a swat team shows up with dogs and tazers and arrests were made. This hotel has no idea how to handle a large gathering or to provide good customer service. Anyone planning a large wedding should definately look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear jander05, This is the second review as a result of a wedding event in which the bride told us she was very happy and went on to apologize for the behavior of a select few. My apologies to you for the way the breakfast staff and the front desk responded to your requests as you described them. We want to treat every guest as though they are our only guests, each and every one important to us. The bridal party chose the meeting facilities prior to the event for the shower and reception. After those events, we received many accolades from attendees saying they had a wonderful time. As far as sleeping rooms being ready early, our housekeeping team is unable to clean rooms until the previous guests have left at their checkout time. We do apologize for any delay as we want to make sure that all of our guests coming in to stay with us have an immaculately cleaned room. We have planned weddings of many sizes ending in countless happy customers. In regards to the events that happened resulting in the police being involved, we do have a responsibility to all of our guests to keep the environment safe and friendly and we still stand by the actions required due the select few who misbehaved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is always clean, quiet and a pleasant place to stay. Their free breakfast is the best !!
The rooms well organized withTV guides, plenty of cleans towels and fresh linen.
It does seem the mattress in our room is coming to the end of its life as it was not too comfortable.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful -- at check-in, at breakfast and at the bar.
OH, and they have several daily newspapers to pick up and read.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon IA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once in awhile our little family will just hop in the truck and go away for a night. wherever the wind blows us. Well this last time the wind blew us towards Illinois. We love the Stoney Creek chain and were lucky enough to find one in East Peoria. Our young daughter loved the stuff animal waiting on the bed in our hotel room (available for purchase at checkout) and the outdoorsy themed pool and hot tub. As always we were welcomed with open arms by the great staff. Hot breakfast, clean rooms, and wonderful staff! What more can we ask for?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at this location. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The conference facilities were fine and the breakfast and lunch were very good. The hotel is easy to find. It is located a few short miles from the casino.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Steve,

I wanted to take a few minutes to let you know how much I enjoyed being a guest at your hotel for the last 8 years. You have a great team and a great property. The service by all was always fantastic and it really shows that you genuinely care about your guests.

Amber, Kristina, and Victoria were always attentive, pleasant, and helpful to me whenever I needed assistance.

Anthony was always there after work to serve me a cold beer with some conversation.

Eric always had my newspapers ready when I stopped by the front desk @ 5:30 AM in the mornings.

Edna would go out of her way in the morning to get me breakfast food as well.

Kristy, Jennifer, and Amy Jo were great hosts as was the rest of your team.

And finally you were always available to help whatever the issue or time of day.

You should all be proud of the excellent service you provide.

I feel like you all became a part of my extended family and wish you all the best!

Please forward this e-mail along to your owners so they know what a great job you and your team are doing.

Regards,

Mike

Room Tip: This is not only a great property for business travellers but families as well. The are right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed at Stoney Creek over the last 7 years, when I've visited East Peoria. The staff is friendly & the rooms clean. The breakfast is lacking, but okay. The bed wasn't very comfortable. We had a patio but afraid to use it due to the spiders. When we opened the door after we checked-in and got to our room (theme suite), there was a spider hanging over the opening (outside, at least). We killed it. The next night, another spider in same spot. There was a broken slat on window shutters. If you need dark room for sleep, this is not the place to get it. I have really bad allergies and I kept sneezing in the room. Perhaps mold? There was obvious water damage, ad the wallpaper was falling off the wall/buckling above the vanity and around a/c unit. The pool was clean (a problem in the past). The hot tub seemed more bubbly than 'jetty", but the dry sauna was nice. The housekeeper told my boyfriend ice machine on 2nd floor (we were on 3rd). The 2nd floor is the only floor WITHOUT an ice machine. ?
Would recommend this hotel, it just needs new mattresses and some maintenance and possibly mold removal. Don't stay if you have allergies.
Brittany at the front desk was more knowledgeable than the others I met, but all very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear LittleFeet, I’m very happy that you continue to recommend our property and have been a steady guest for the past 7 years. We, of course, hope our relationship will continue. We want you to know that we will take care of the broken slat and the paper around the vanity and air unit. I assure you there is no mold issue, as we regularly test for that. There is, without doubt, plenty of pollen in the air this time of year and being in close proximity to a beautiful river, we constantly strive to deal with insects when we can so our guests going outdoors don’t have to. Spiders, like at home, are hard workers and can rebuild rather quickly. I can only hope that the directions to a non-existent ice unit you were given was a misunderstanding. Because you have been with us so often, I’m sure you understand that these were not the usual circumstances and look forward to your next trip to East Peoria and a stay with us with no negative experiences. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria

Address: 101 Mariners Way, East Peoria, IL 61611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > East Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in East Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off I-74 at the beautiful East Port Marina, the Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a special place that offers a relaxing experience for both vacation and business travelers. We feature Northwoods themed rooms, an Indoor/outdoor heated pool, sauna, and whirlpool spa plus expanded hot breakfast served daily. If you’re visiting family or friends, Bradley University, Illinois Central College, the Par-a-dice Casino, Caterpillars World headquarters or just getting away from it all, you’ll feel right at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - East Peoria Hotel East Peoria
Stoney Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.