We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jersey Mike's Subs

Jersey Mike's Subs
Jersey Mike's, East Peoria, IL
3096944490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 89 Restaurants in East Peoria
Cuisines: Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stopped for lunch. I had the #43: chipotle cheese steak. It was very good . They have a chipotle mayo on it that I liked. Next time I'll ask for extra meat and they were a little skimpy on the onions and green peppers. I love that the bread is really soft airy. My husband had #13: original Italian. He ordered the giant and it was huge. He thought too much oil but other that he liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great people; ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice people behind the counter here. Fresh food and very clean. Better than subway but not my top sub shop pick. Good for a change of pace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Deeeeelicious subs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am not usually crazy about subs, but the one I had a Jersey Mike's today was so good. I signed up for their email club a while ago but never went. Today I received a coupon and decided this was the day to try them. I arrived around 11:30 and there was aline but it moved along nicely. No wait, no hassle. I was a bit overwhelmed by the menu - it isn't huge, but there are a lot of choices. I decided on the Original Italian (#13) and got it Mike's Way (lettuce, tomato, onions, vinegar, oil, seasoning). It was a regular which was around 8 inches long. I got it to go since all of the tables were taken. The sandwich tasted very fresh. The cold cuts were great, the lettuce and tomato just right. The vinegar gave it a nice tang. After finishing my sandwich, I downloaded their app and will be part of their loyalty program. This will be the first of many visits to Jersey Mike's for me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the cheese steak sandwiches which were very good. Mine was supposed to be on wheat, but it was served on white, unfortunately we had take out. They were probably the best cheese steaks we have had. Mine had a bit too much cheese though. I know, how can it have too much cheese?? It was just too rich with all that cheese. Overall, it was good and we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering subs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Jersey Mike's just opened this week and we had some discount coupons so we went to check the out. I had no idea we were there on opening day! Luckily, we must have timed it right because there wasn't a wait just a shortage of tables. We got our food and we got a table. :) The menu is very simple to navigate with plenty of options. The staff was very friendly and did their best to make our visit a pleasant one. The owner and staff were making their way through the dining area to make sure everyone had what they needed. Even with the crowds they were keeping things (tables, floors, soda area and trash) maintained.

Now let's talk food because that is why we are here! We were so pleased with the sandwiches. The boys each got a plain turkey with provolone. Nice, fresh taste. Great bread that was crisp on the outside and soft inside. Hubby tried the number 9 cold cut club. He is a plain kinda guy too so he went with the plain turkey, roast beef, bacon on white. He did change the Swiss for provolone and he added banana peppers. It didn't sound good but it was great! The roast beef was just a beautiful pink in the center. I will be back just for that! I had a cheesesteak. I had to upgrade to the Big Kahuna so I could enjoy the mushrooms on it. Word of advice, unless you LOVE jalapenos have the go light on those. There were way to many to eat and I was picking them off to finish my sandwich! The sandwich came with double cheese, onions, peppers, jalapenos, mushrooms and lots of meat. You can of course add any other toppings you like from their fixings area just tell them as you order.

While the food is great I think they may have an issue with their prices in our very frugal community. We like to eat out but we also like to do it affordable. A regular sandwich runs about $7. You can add a small drink and a small bag of chips for another $2 and change. So you are at $10 a person for a sub meal. As we have sent friends here this week it was the price that everyone complained about.

Will we return? You bet. Even though it is a bit pricier than it's competitors we found the freshness and the quality to be worth the added expense. My husband summed it up nicely today when after our third trip this week he told me to hurry up and open his take out....his mouth was watering!!! :)

TIP: Especially during this crazy opening week, I encourage you to call in your order for carry out. You can always grab a table anyway. There is a special cash register on the left side of the counter just for call ahead orders to be picked up. LOVE THAT!

Another interesting thing is you can order your sandwich in three sizes. A mini is a kids' or light eater size, the regular is comparable to a 8 inch sub and then a large.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jersey Mike's Subs also viewed

 

Been to Jersey Mike's Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jersey Mike's Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.