We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basta at East Port

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Basta at East Port
2517 N. Main St., East Peoria, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in East Peoria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place offers great food in a cozy atmosphere. Closed Sundays though. It does have a nice wine list.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Share an entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tasty, plentiful food: enough for two (seriously) or one with a huge appetite. A downtown location and one in a strip mall.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“I don't understand the positive reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

To put it simply the service was very poor, the portions were huge but that doesn't make the food good and it wasn't. My Chicken Marsala was just a few degrees from being cold and lacked the flavor it should have had. My companion had Shrimp Pesto, a mountain of pasta hiding very few shrimp. Our server never seemed to be on top of the needs of our table, it was a party of ten. Ask for a second glass of wine, don't expect to get it without asking again, one basket of bread for the whole table. All in all not a place we will visit again .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My favorite is the Pasta Compramare. I ask for it "not too spicy" and it's to die for. Their service is always pleasant and the quiet atmosphere is exactly what we need. Love it here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Basta Eastport is one of our favorite places to eat. They have wonderful food and the atmosphere is great too. They have a good variety on their menu (even though I tell myself I'm going to branch out and get something different, I always end up ordering the tortellini carbonara) and one gets a large amount for the price. We love their food so much we had them cater our wedding!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basta at East Port also viewed

 

Been to Basta at East Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basta at East Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.