We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hatherley Manor to your Saves list
Hatherley Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley GL2 9QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Short Break Getaway Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed in Hatherley Manor, back in July last year and really enjoyed it. We booked a junior suite and got upgraded to a master. It was a beautiful room with a big open fire place. Our breakfast each morning was cooked fresh and was delicious. We also enjoyed their bar food on several occasions too. As the hotel is outside town it is really peaceful. I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice chilled out getaway in the English countyside!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Hi Cork Billy

glad you loved it

kind regards
Stephen Trowbridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    146
    71
    26
    20
See reviews for
46
235
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Hatherley Manor must date back several hundred year but time and the hand of man has not dealt kindly with it. Judging by the photos on display it was a family home until the 1920's or later. Since then it has been extended in more or less matching redbrick and converted to a hotel in the 1960s.

A short drive with a lawn planted with trees under which snowdrops were in evidence looks toward the distant hills. There is ample parking a short walk from the hotel entrance. This has two sets of narrow double doors which have very strong springs which made manoeuvring with three cases a tricky business.

One steps immediately into the public lounge and bar with the reception desk on the right. All the panelled surfaces - and there are a lot of them - are painted in British Railways waiting room brown with beige walls. The ceiling features more brown on the fake adze carved beams. The lighting levels are low and someone has attempted to add a bit of warmth to the decor by scattering nightlights around the (brown) tables. This only adds to the all-pervading gloom. The restaurant area has authentic ceiling beams and is rather more cosy but only marginally. The conference rooms are cavernous and totally without character.

The bedroom I had was small and contained one table and chair too many forcing me to edge around the bed to get to the other side of it and there was nowhere to put a case. There was an excellent flat screen tv, tea making facilities with the makings in rather fussy boxes. The colour scheme was.............brown and beige with rather more beige this time.The bed was comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The best feature was the bathroom with appropriately Edwardian style fittings and bright lighting.

So, low marks for decor, but what of the workings of the hotel? The staff were all friendly helpful and efficient. The restaurant served a very adequate continental breakfast and butter was in pats on a dish and coffee made in a cafetiere so high marks here. Toast was put in front of me immediately on sitting down without my having asked for it but was very acceptable.

One word of warning. Be careful where you put your fingers when going downstairs. The wall ties for the banisters are just below the level of the top of the bannister and it is very easy to hurt your fingers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
thank you for your review
I am sorry that you felt our decor was not to your taste, we try hard to maintain a modern yet country feel to the hotel, and as with all older properties changes have been made throughout its life some of them for the better and some that with hindsight we would wish had not happened. over time the current owners have started to put right the 1960s and 70s changes to the building but like all things to do it properly it takes time and money, i Am somewhat surprised that you did not like our function rooms though as these really are the best in the area. The Oak suite with its original pannelling and Redwood with its beautiful bay window both ideal for private dining, then there is the Moat suite built using original bricks reclaimed from the old moat wall and finished with some fabulous Italian lighting most people i take in there just go WOW!!

I am glad that you liked our grounds and the quality of our service and staff

kind regards
Stephen Trowbridge
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Our visit from 2nd to 5th January 2010 provided us with a short winter break, the memory of which will always remain with us. We arrived late at night on 2nd January, cold and tired after a long day and a long drive through intermittent snowy conditions. As soon as we arrived we felt we were among friends and the personal service we experienced throughout our few days is seldom seen nowadays. My wife and I and our two teenage children all enjoyed the experience immensely and found the rooms and common areas extremely clean and comfortable throughout. The building and extensive gardens are absolutely enchanting. Eating in the restaurant is a lovely experience as all the food served had such a home made and old world taste and flavour. The young waiter David was quiet and courteous, a real young gentleman who took great pride in his work and will go far in his chosen field. I really cannot recommend the Hatherley Manor Hotel highly enough. Even our fellow guests were so pleasant - I think there is just something about the place that attracts nice people! We offer our sincere thanks and very best wishes to the management and staff alike.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Lack of staff and friendliness was the only downside here, upon arrival the we were kept waiting at reception and had to call out for service in the end.
Rooms cosy, warm and bathroom lovely and clean and well equipped, gounds lovely and bar area inviting, we were off to a wedding and after changing decided to have a drink at the bar before we went but again no one around.
Upon returning in the evening approx 11.30 several Xmas parties were in full swing but reception was deserted and one of the girls waiting for her lift had to come back in and open up to get our room key for us.
Upon leaving I paid but no conversation or have you had a good stay from receptionist have experienced better!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Booked last minute and were told at the time of our booking that they were having 2 wedding functions that evening. Upon arrival we were dealt with immediately at the reception desk. The hotel is set within beautiful grounds with ample parking with lovely country pubs dotted around locally. Our room was clean and cozy and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, although I would not stay there for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Had an absolutely fabulous time, room was perfect huge room with 4 poster bed and separate sitting area. Room had a DVD player with DVD's available to rent from reception which was a nice touch.
Both room service and breakfast was great food and service.
Will defo be heading back as couldn't find anything to moan about, except maybe the weather but some how don't think the hotel can control that!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I've just completed a five night stay at Hatherley Manor and despite enduring two fire alarms during the week have had a positive experience.

My room (236) was a large double bedroom, with seating area and decent sized bathroom. Although the room was by the staircase, and above the entrance and reception it was very quiet. The room was comfortable and only suffered from curtains that didn't quite close. The bar food was very good and service was attentive yet discreet.

The breakfast selection was good and the cooked breakfast freshly cooked and decent. I think it is a bit cheeky to charge £13 odd for breakfast and then put a £2.50 supplement on if you want the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! It also wouldn't hurt the breakfast waiters to cheer up. Some mornings I felt I was disturbing a wake.

These are minor gripes however as the overall experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel. One thing to note is that if you are travelling into Gloucester in rush hour, your journey will be very slow, although it's only 4 miles.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley GL2 9QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatherley Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatherley Manor's recent one million pound refurbishment has created a wonderful transformation to the reception, bar, lounge, Dewinton Restaurant and hotel bedrooms. Traditional features have been beautifully enhanced with an abundance of lavish furnishings and timeless decoration to create a contemporary chic style. There is an impressive selection of Double and Twin bedrooms. The Executive, Superior and Four-Poster room offer elegance and luxury. Hatherley Manor became a fully non smoking hotel at the start of May 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatherley Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.