We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
The Black Horse Inn
1 Barrs Lane | Dursley, North Nibley GL11 6DT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 North Nibley B&B and Inns
braintree
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the family room for two nights - as not sure which members of our family would be staying. When I called to say, over 7 nights before the beginning of our stay we would only be staying now for 1 night and now was only 2 people, was told we would lose our deposit for the second night. Felt this was rather greedy on behalf of the management. As, in total, our 1 night stay in a very average B&B, with a rather disappointing breakfast cost us over £100 ! And carpet in the bathroom - how gross!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would firstly like to say that you were well aware of our cancellation policy at the time of placing your booking with as and via all email confirmations, I also explained this to you prior to your arrival and after speaking to you the week before.

I do remember taking the time to speak to you on departure and you had enjoyed your stay! we also had a really kind review via our own website from the other to rooms that were part of your group, who would love to stay again!

It's a real shame that you felt you had to go away and then leave negative feedback because your plans had changed and felt we should lose out and not you.

I would also like to say that the majority of businesses in the accommodation industry take deposits and this is usually non-refundable!

And as for the Carpet you are the first guests to say such negative comments, I can only assume that good old English Inns are not for you!

However if you would like to discuses these point further please feel free to contact me.

Email Address: contact@blackhorsenorthnibley.co.uk / Direct Number 01453 543777


Best Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
38
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

As a family of 4, two boys ages 11 and 12 years, we booked into the family room for a long weekend stay. The family room was ideal for us with the double in the main room and then a linked room with twin beds next door. The Black Horse has recently been re opened and has a family team running it. There were three real ales on when we were there with plans to have regular guest ales..Wickwar's Bob is very good. We were impressed with how much had been organised in such a short space of time, they were clearly still settling in but the service was good, the menu is traditional pub food and very reasonably priced. The setting is great on the Cotswold Way and the pub sits at the bottom of the Tyndale Monument hill. The climb up the hill and then up the monument is well worth the effort as the views across the countryside from the top are fantastic. Would recommend to all...apart from people who expect quiet accommodation over a pub. We really liked it and will use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jenkins family

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. As a Pub with guest rooms we aim to offer good value for money for what we provide.I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

I hope you will consider to stay with us again for any return trips you may make to North Nibley.

Kind Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for one night when attending a nearby wedding. The rooms are comfortable and clean, very reasonable prices, good beer, extremely helpful owners; a nice area too! I would recommend the black horse inn and would certainly stay there again should the need arise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Pete G

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on our customer service and standards I am delighted you experienced this first hand. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Danny - Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Danny and his team were so attentive, warm and friendly. Running a traditional 'oldey worldey' pub with great food and local atmosphere.
Comfy rooms with clean sheets and towels and well equipped to recharge your batteries for more sight seeing along The Cotswold Way. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Rebecca RLV

I am delighted you found us to be good value for money and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to share this on trip advisor and would love to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Danny - Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked for 1 nights stay on Wednesday 19th June 2013 after the Pub had recently reopened under new ownership. I have to say they couldn't have done more for me. From carrying my bags upto the room for me to phoning taxi's. Very friendly family run pub. The rooms were spotless and although the breakfast was continental it was to a high standard. I enjoyed my stay and will definatly be comming back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

12 of us walking the Cotswold Way. 7 stayed here, 5 up the road, but we all ate here. The new Landlord and his wife were extremely friendly, very helpful, and bent over backwards to make us welcomed. They even tumbledried washing, allowed us to watch Downton whilst eating, and had the chef in specially for us (we'd booked in advance) at at time when they normally don't serve meals.
BUT they do have 2 noisy dogs, and the bedrooms are not noiseproof and you can hear everything from the bar below. Take ear plugs. Great for being actually ON the Cotswold Way, convenient and friendly. Not luxurious by any means, but good for walkers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Can't say enough about how good the service was, over and above what was expected. The land lord is as friendly as could be and couldn't do enough to make us welcome and help us , even though we was soaked and covered in mud.room was great and so was breakfast. We ate in the bar on the evening and the food was tops and greAt value for money. 10/10 guys well done , great b&bs and bar. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: 1 Barrs Lane | Dursley, North Nibley GL11 6DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > North Nibley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Nibley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional country inn offers Four cask ales, ciders & lagers with comfortable en-suite bed & breakfast accommodation.The bar is friendly, with a mix of locals and visitors.The pub is on the route of the Cotswold Way, in the centre of the beautiful village of North Nibley, sat beneath the Tyndale Monument, in-between the pretty market towns of Wotton-under-Edge and Dursley, With breath-taking views and walks right on our doorstep, it's perfectly located for Sunday lunch, an overnight stop, or a longer stay.When the sun is shining you can sit outside, with tables at the front, and an enclosed beer garden at the rear.We welcome families with children and dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.