We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing surf resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali to your Saves list
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pantai Keramas | Keramas, Keramas, Blahbatuh, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5 Nights Eat Play Surf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keramas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Amazing surf resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and really loved this place. Having stayed in Bali many times at different hotels I'd have to say this is one of the best.

The pricing for accommodation is very reasonable. The rooms are new modern minimalist beach style. They have a/c which is definitely needed. A number of people staying left their boards outside on the verandah and there is a drying rack for surf gear.

I ate all meals here and all of them were excellent. If you like healthy meals they have a number of options. I didn't think anything was overpriced.

The vibe of the resort is very laid back. The pool and bar area are cool with tunes being played from 6.30am-11.00pm. I personally loved this as it was like cool Sunday chillout music and remixes but if you want a break where you want silence then this pool area won't give you that.

Surf wise. There are great waves here. If its any good then there are crowds unfortunately and at least a 3rd are local Indo's. I went to this resort for the surf as my priority but ended up enjoying everything else about the resort more than the surf because you have to fight for waves and surfers come in for the day so it's not just the hotel patrons getting the waves. Unfortunately in Bali the surf culture has changed dramatically in the last few years and instead of going there to enjoy plenty of waves you have Indo's who've now learnt to surf and are arrogant and happy to take waves constantly without respect and this happens here at Komune too.

I'd definitely return but preferably with a bunch of mates so we could make sure we could balance the power of who gets the waves... The only feedback I could give the hotel is to try to control who comes into the resort for day trips where they are coming to surf and talk to the local Indo's about respecting the patrons surf experience because after all this is a purpose built surf resort. The Balinese surfers aren't humble about why they are even able to surf these days when it's mainly due to all the Aussie's who have supported Bali tourism so much over the years...

Overall whether you surf or not this place is magic and you should definitely go. Even the gardens where they grow fruit is great and the pool is perfect for kids too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Gday Lteam

Thanks for your review and the kind words you have said about the resort.

Lteam it is important to remember that Keramas is one of the world's best breaks and as such there is often a talented local and international crew out there also wanting their share of the waves.

All of us are guests of the Balinese on their amazing island and we have found that you will get more waves by respecting the local guys and just relaxing and having fun at Komune and maybe surfing more at off-peak times.

The Balinese are very kind and friendly people and reciprocate a positive friendly attitude in and out of the surf. Taking aggression and frustration into the water seems to guarantee surfers no waves out there.

Our best advice if its too crowded at Keramas to explore the other waves of the area - there are many others in close proximity. Alternatively check the tide times and book in for a night surf session or surf off peak.

The advantage you have as an in house guest is that you are Jonny on the Spot and can sit and watch all day and head out at times the crowd drops a little.

We also offer boat trips from to Lemongan leaving from Keramas.

Sorry you didn't have a better experience in the surf mate but we think if you give the above ideas a go next time you will still get way better waves than you would have back home.

Tony (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    93
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
133
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A simple room, nice view, a good place to relax. We were the only locals at that time and seems that the massage-lady prefer to provide a better service to a foreigner. She asked us to wait, eventhough we have booked the time as she requested.. The room is minimalist, the AC is not cold enough and the matrass is hard, cant hardly sleep well.. The best part is just the view and quiet..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Vanda

Thankyou for staying with us recently and for letting us know about some concerns you had with your stay.

Firstly let me say that we welcome locals to our resort and they are just as important to us as all other guests. Locals make up over half of our guests at Komune and we strive to give our Indonesian guests the best service possible - as we do all our guests.

We have spoken to our day spa team and this was a case of the spa running 1/2 hour late due to previous guests running late. We understood you still had your massage albeit 30 minutes behind the scheduled time.

Our General Manager advised he has sincerely apologised to you for this and offered you a complimentary massage on your next visit to Komune to make up for this delay to your massage.

Thank you for highlighting the other issues in your room, our rooms service and maintenance department has fixed these problems and are available 24/7 to fix any maintenance items on your next visit.

We do hope to see you again soon Vanda so we can make up for you not having the best experience possible at Komune and so we can provide your complimentary massage.

Kind Regards

Tony (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013


I have never been so impressed with the service/location/rooms in my stay anywhere like i have been with Komune.
The friendliest staff and service.
The rooms are luxurious and so comfortable.
I would reccomend anyone i know to come and stay here. 15/10 You guys should be proud of yourselves! Cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What can I say about Komune, lots of things.. 1stly when you walk in, your breath is taking away from the views of sun, sea and surf (huge waves!).. Then you notice the interior and you know you are in the right place for a great night! We went as a group (of 65) and immediately felt welcome and looked after by the staff. We were brought drinks and food by the pool overlooking the magnificent ocean and met with the Manger Wayne who is a Gold Coast legend! He made sure we were looked after all night with drinks, food and some top music provided by their own DJ.. The party continued into the night but even if you wanted to relax their is so much space at Komune that you could do both.. Great night, great staff, great times! Cheers Wayne and staff.. We'l def be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Komune is just perfect in all senses of the word. its beautiful, the staff is super attentive, rooms are gorgeous, food is fabulous and the pool is totally loungable.

Stayed her after my boyfriend finished taking the Bar and it was the perfect spot to relax to the fullest! We never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently stayed with you guys and we had a fantastic experience. It was our first trip to Bali, and you were our first stop. Your staff was incredible, one of the girls we were with left her debit card in an ATM and everyone went above and beyond to help her get it back. Brad was our driver from the airport and we loved him!

Also, the staff at the restaurant was great, Juna was so friendly and remember us which we appreciated. Augus checked in with us daily and that was so nice.

Thank you so much for a great experience, you truly have something special there at Komune. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What an awesome experience! LOVE THE GARDENS fruit and veg that is garden to plate! Highly recommended for anyone looking to stay in Bali. Wayne the GM blew us away with his constant attentive service and care along with the rest of the staff. Very friendly! Food is also amazing and the atmosphere is surf/relax with smooth tunes playing by the pool all day! The rooms were great value for the price, and after talking with Wayne the next stage of the resort is in progress with new rooms that will have a few more additional convenient features such as tea, coffee and bar fridge...Overall a great stay, looking forward to coming back for more wow factor once the next stage is complete.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Pantai Keramas | Keramas, Keramas, Blahbatuh, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Blahbatuh > Keramas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keramas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komune Bali Resort and Beach Club overlooks the famous Keramas right-hand reef break on Bali's beautiful East Coast. This resort and beach club provides great facilities in addition to world class waves. Hotel Komune and Beach Club at Keramas Beach in Bali Set on the lush and unspoilt East Coast of Bali, Hotel Komune Resort and Beach Club is blessed with a hypnotizing view of the world famous Keramas surf break. This resort is 50 minutes away from Ngurah Rai International Airport. With its pristine volcanic beach, this 4 star beachfront bali resort offers a wonderful experience of spending leisure time in a natural luxury hotel. Hotel Komune at Keramas Bali Hotel features 66 impressive rooms and suites. Sumptuously appointed accommodation with artistic furniture, this unique Bali resort articulates the identity of the Island of the Gods. Our Beach Club was voted in the top 5 in Asia and the executive chef brings his worldwide cuisine experience into the dishes. Inviting entertainments and exquisite nibbles from Asia, Europe, and Australia are being served in themed night dinners. The body deserves a reward after a hard day in the surf , and Hotel Komune Bali's joglo spa understands how to pamper the body - from head to toe. The wide selection of treatments caters both adults and children needs. Thanks to the awesome ocean vista, Hotel Komune at Keramas Bali features selections of idyllic Bali wedding venues: Bali beach lawn wedding, and Traditional Beachfront warung wedding. Champagne, bouquet, decoration, and other petite details are wrapped in the Bali wedding packages. Corporate meeting rooms with artistic Balinese touch are other opulences of this 5 star resort. The all inclusive incentives package is designed for professionals. Called a family friendly resort, Hotel Komune Bali features Kids club and children playground. The warm Komune activity team arranges various children activities to develop the creativity. With all the luxury inclusions, Hotel Komune Bali is definitely worth listing on every Bali itinerary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.