We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect contemporary retreat for all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali to your Saves list
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pantai Keramas | Keramas, Keramas, Blahbatuh, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat Play Surf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keramas
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“perfect contemporary retreat for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for a long weekend. The reason I am not giving this place a 5-star is because of the location (nothing is really around there).
Pros:
-if you are a surfer, you'll love this place.
-massage/spa, very nice setting and quality massage (very good price also)
-food/drinks, you will have very good selection of local as well as western food (again price is very reasonable)
-garden, really liked the little gardens at the resort which gave it a nice homey feeling
-eating area/pool, fun, hip and fresh (seating area overlooking the beach kind of reminded me of kudeta in bali but not as hectic)
-staff, very friendly, nice and helpful staff (whatever we needed, they provided and also quickly addressed our billing issue)
-family friendly atmosphere, we dont have kids and generally avoid places crawling with kids but at Komune, the way things are laid out you have a lot of space and dont feel crowded (I saw several families where the kids looked like they were having a nice time surfing swimming etc)

Potential Cons
-if you don't like music playing by the pool, you will not like staying here as the music is playing all the time
-noise in rooms, the rooms are well-ventilated which means sound travels too. so if you want to stay at a place where you can close the door and be in silence, this is not the place for you (we had to knock on our next door neighbor to turn the TV down at 4am bc I can hear EVERYTHING on the TV including what show he was watching)
-location, you have to taxi to get to other towns, go to other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    70
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
57
111
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in this resort and really cannot say enough nice things about the place. The location is fantastic to unwind and relax in - we wanted somewhere quiet and away from tacky tourist filled places which this absolutely delivered. Standing on the black sand beach each more looking out and seeing nothing other than palm trees and the sound of the ocean was so relaxing. Equally the restaurant serves great food with nice healthy options. The staff in the hotel could not be friendlier or more helpful and really add so,etching to the stay. We originally stayed for a few nights and then had a hotel in Seminyak booked for the remainder of the trip. Whilst the hotel in Seminyak was beautiful - we really missed the tranquility of Komune and so returned.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to unwind and relax away from over crowded tourist filled areas. A really great place to unwind :)

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay! You can spend your day lounging by the beach-side pool whilst feeling hip and trendy with the great beachy/lounge music in the background. We spent ages just sitting by the edge of the pool, cocktail in hand, watching the surfers! As another reviewer said, a hidden gem!

The resort is the only place along that stretch of beach which guarantees you quiet and isolation - quite a difference from the busy beaches of Kuta and Seminyak. It's definitely the place for you if you enjoy peace and quiet and just lounge around and not really leave the area. Saying that, Ubud is close by and the resort offers tours and drivers, if you wish to explore Bali.

Whilst we weren't surfers, it definitely was popular with the surfers.

We enjoyed the local food that was on the menu and the breakfast was great! As were the cocktails! The rooms look exactly like they do on the website but are set a bit away from the beach. Prices are fair both for the stay and the food.

The staff were also very friendly and helpful :)

The only issue we had was the noise at night - the walls are very thin and you can hear the neighbours' tv, even when it is on very softly, or when people walked back to their rooms chatting. We used ear plugs which was fine. But if you're sensitive to sound, this may not be the place for you.

We definitely left feeling relaxed and happy from our Komune experience :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great resort on the sands of the east coast of Bali. Friendly, safe, great food, extremely well designed, reasonable rates, Keramas surf on the doorstep. Thank you Wayne and Team for a fantastic few days holiday in absolute paradise. Perfect setup for the travelling surfer solo or with family/friends, staff made you feel extremely welcome and professionally managed. Night surfing potential if the waves get too crowded during day!! Not cheap for Bali but well worth it with every need catered for with quality food, absolutely bliss for a natural footer wanting to relax for a few days. Thanks once again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of block more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well I stayed there for 4 nights the place is a total ripoff $20 dollors for a pizza and a can of coke in Australia I get 2 pizzas a garlic bread and a bottle of coke for $20 .. There isn't any atmosphere there at night by 7 o'clock the place is dead get sum bands going or something liven the place up .. The staff are really Nice though they will almost do anything for you and if it wasn't for them I probley would have left the first day. all in all save ya money stay somewhere else get a driver to take you there and enjoy ya holiday that's what bali is all about .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Jake,

Thanks for staying with us at Komune Bali. Our staff appreciate your kind words about their service during your stay.

At Komune Bali we offer two food outlets - our main beach club restaurant and our traditional warung area.

Our pizzas range from 90,000RP to 120,000 RP plus taxes which is a fair price for gourmet individually hand made pizzas. Many guests comment they are the best pizzas in Bali and we believe they are of a very high standard. The prices are a lot less than comparable beach clubs in Bali. We don't believe that a fair comparison can be made with take away mass produced Dominos pizzas in Australia when resort guests are being served high quality produce in an amazing setting, with use of a pool and beach club facilities, right in front of the Keramas surf break.

We do understand that many surfers and guests are on a tight budget and we offer traditional warung food such as nasi goreng, mei goreng, jaffles in our beautiful warung area for budget prices.

In relation to your comment about the place being dead after 7pm, we do have live entertainment - but on a monthly basis - for example Ash Grunwald is playing at Komune Bali on the 14th September and we have our Bali Boardiders night surf event in October coming up with live entertainment. Many afternoons feature live DJs in keeping with the relaxed nature of our place.

We dont intend turning the Keramas area into another Kuta and believe Komune is a place to chill out, escape and enjoy the day time and the surf rather than create another noisy party zone which Bali already adequately caters for.

I hope this explains our reasoning for our operational strategy so that you or future guests looking at this review understand what we offer at Komune Bali.

Kind Regards

Tony
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The only absolute beach front pool in Bali!!! The resort is awesome food is awesome as are the staff and as for the epic surf break!!! Just amazing!!! This was the ninth time mark and I (Ali) have been to Bali and can honestly say it's the bestest spot ever!!! Can't wait to get back!!! Only one problem wish we had another week!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I just went for lunch with some friends. Setting is magical: black sand beach, inviting pool, friendly staff... and most importantly not crowded at all compared to the Kuta/ Seminyak beach clubs!
Food and drinks are good, price wise it's ok for this kind of place. Dont expect cheap fares but for a beach club, I found it cheaper than the Seminyak ones...
We lounged the whole afternoon, comfortably sitting looking out to the beach and ocean... So relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Pantai Keramas | Keramas, Keramas, Blahbatuh, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Blahbatuh > Keramas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keramas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komune Bali Resort and Beach Club overlooks the famous Keramas right-hand reef break on Bali's beautiful East Coast. This resort and beach club provides great facilities in addition to world class waves. Hotel Komune and Beach Club at Keramas Beach in Bali Set on the lush and unspoilt East Coast of Bali, Hotel Komune Resort and Beach Club is blessed with a hypnotizing view of the world famous Keramas surf break. This resort is 50 minutes away from Ngurah Rai International Airport. With its pristine volcanic beach, this 4 star beachfront bali resort offers a wonderful experience of spending leisure time in a natural luxury hotel. Hotel Komune at Keramas Bali Hotel features 66 impressive rooms and suites. Sumptuously appointed accommodation with artistic furniture, this unique Bali resort articulates the identity of the Island of the Gods. Our Beach Club was voted in the top 5 in Asia and the executive chef brings his worldwide cuisine experience into the dishes. Inviting entertainments and exquisite nibbles from Asia, Europe, and Australia are being served in themed night dinners. The body deserves a reward after a hard day in the surf , and Hotel Komune Bali's joglo spa understands how to pamper the body - from head to toe. The wide selection of treatments caters both adults and children needs. Thanks to the awesome ocean vista, Hotel Komune at Keramas Bali features selections of idyllic Bali wedding venues: Bali beach lawn wedding, and Traditional Beachfront warung wedding. Champagne, bouquet, decoration, and other petite details are wrapped in the Bali wedding packages. Corporate meeting rooms with artistic Balinese touch are other opulences of this 5 star resort. The all inclusive incentives package is designed for professionals. Called a family friendly resort, Hotel Komune Bali features Kids club and children playground. The warm Komune activity team arranges various children activities to develop the creativity. With all the luxury inclusions, Hotel Komune Bali is definitely worth listing on every Bali itinerary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.