We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and rennovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1113 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean and rennovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently stayed at the property. The rooms in the back building are currently being rennovated. The rooms in the front building have been completed. I had stayed here previously and was aware of the WIFI issue. This time I stayed in room 204 and had no issue with the WIFI. It helps that it is directly over the main office. With the room I stayed in being rennnovated, it was like staying in a brand new hotel.
You cannot beat the price especially with AAA discount and they are currently giving you a gas coupon good for 40 cents off a gallon at Speedway. There is no breakfast, just coffee, but there are restaurants nearby if needed. The front desk person was courteous.

Room Tip: For best WIFI connection, stay in a room near the front office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking some time to write a positive review about your recent visit to our Red Roof Inn – Downers Grove. We love to hear from our frequent guests. I am very happy that the Wi-Fi met your expectations this time and that you found our newly remodeled rooms enjoyable, meeting all your expectations. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
18
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here and just had to give it rave reviews.. EVERYONE from the management to the maintenance staff are helpful, and pleasant! There is not one bad thing we could find about this location! The updates on the rooms are fantastic!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a CLEAN, QUIET, location with the best in customer service. don't miss th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for giving the time to write a review. Positive guest response is a great encouragement for me and my staff, which I will be sharing with the entire team. I am also glad to read that you stayed in one of our newly remodeled rooms, and most importantly that they are appealing and welcoming in the guests view. Once again, thank you so much for the great feedback and positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose this Red Roof based on location and the acceptance of pets. On arrival the the it was clear the property was in the midst of a renovation. We were offered a newly renovated room with wooden floors rather than wall to wall carpeting. The room was clean and smelled fresh. It was odd that one of the desk clerks had an industrial grade respirator mask on. Made me wonder what she was protecting herself from...

After our first night, we returned midday to the room for a 1 hour cat nap for my 5 year old and then off for an afternoon of fun. When we returned at the end of the day, we found our room had never been cleaned. I returned to the front desk and the masked desk clerk asked if she could get us any towels, but that was the extent of her graciousness. The next morning when I brought the lack of service to the attention of another desk clerk, without a mask by the way, he made an adjustment to our bill for the lack of maid service which was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Mike
I appreciate the time given to write a review based on your last stay at our Hotel. Your observations and comments are always welcome. As you mentioned in your review, it is always very challenging when renovations and upgrades are taking place. Our property very soon will be presenting a new good looking lobby, and is now renting newly remodeled guest rooms. I do appreciate your understanding during renovations and I also wanted to invite you over to be witness to our new fresh looking lobby and guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bedspreads are threadbare and have holes in the lining. There is no tissue...oh wait, finally found it...a small pocket pack is apparently what passes for a box of tissue. The strangest thing is that the fan / window unit only blows cold air...if you keep looking, you'll find the heat thermostat...and the heat units are up on the wall near the ceiling...I guess no one told them heat rises! Upon calling the desk to say the room was cold, they said "well we never had a problem wtih them heating up"... eventually...hours later...it did finally get warm with the heat cranked all the way up. The bed was passable, although the towels were quite thin and threadbare. Overall, not someplace I'd go back to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. My big apologies to you for all the issues found on your recent stay. I will share you’re observations with our cleaning team to ensure that threadbare bedspreads, holes in the linen are not overlooked. I am so sorry that you found our tissue pack to be too small; however, do know that we provide any extras at no additional charge at the front desk. I am also very sorry that you found the separation of the air conditioning by the window from our heather units to be inconvenient. We do maintain both at a room temperature. You'll be happy to know however that, corrective majors are currently taken place; we are currently undergoing a major renovation of our Inn and will be 100% Smoke free once it is completed. I sure hope that you give us another opportunity; and be the witness of our commitment and effort to provide an upgraded and improved product.
I sure hope that next time that you are in our area, you give us another chance to stay with us or in any other sister property in the Chicagoland area so that you may experience the true value that Red Roof Inn has to offer to our valuable customers like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room was very clean. Everything has been updated recently and is very modern and comfortable. It seemed safe. The beds were comfortable and I appreciated the free wifi. The only small issue was the towel I used after showering. It was the size of a postage stamp and so un-softened that it scratched my skin as I dried myself. If that's the only negative thing I can say, then I think we have a winner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review as that means a lot to us. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the room quality as well as your overall good impression of our property. I will make sure to share your observations with our entire staff; but primarily, with our cleaning team. Your feedback about the room been very clean goes a long ways, and it means a lot to us. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I have decided to write this review on my iPhone due to the wifi here being slower than anything I've ever experienced. I'm sure some of you can recal the days of dial up? Yea... Guys, lets take dial up and multiply is to the tenth power. The wifi here is awful, and I hope you can take that into strong consideration if you plan on using it frequently. I have been waiting 12 minutes now for my page to load, and this has been going on since the beginning of my stay. This morning (about 4am), I was woke up. Not by my alarm clock, but by a fire alarm malfunction. The front desk is rude. Wake up calls are a joke. I would trust my 3 year old daughter to wake me up before I trusted these people to make a requested wake up call (they have failed at 3 so far, an counting!) I killed a brown recluse spider in my bathroom the second night of my stay. You have a total of about 25 tv channels, which all suck. My safe In my room is non functioning, which is awesome considering I have no where to lock up my personal belongings. My alarm clock shuts off when ever it pleases. The beds are similar to something I believe you would find in a prison. The provided coffee cups are equal to about 5 shot glasses of fluid. And if you want coffee, you had better not plan on staying in anything less than the deluxe king room, because you won't have a coffee maker. And as I sit here and listen to the god awful interstate noise, I conclude this review with advising you to pay the extra few bucks and stay somewhere nicer. This motel is a complete let down.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such as detailed review. I can only begin to imagine the frustration your felt during your stay, and I sincerely apologize if I was unavailable at any time during your stay that you may have attempted to contact me. I would love to have the opportunity to speak to you, please feel free to contact me at your convenience, so that I may be able to properly address all your concerns. My goal is to make it right and leave you confident in our ability to serve your hotel needs and expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading the reviews of this hotel I expected to get a decent enough room for a fair price. This hotel was horrible, the room was not clean, much smaller than the pictures online, and even though they have been remodeled the rooms just werent nice at all. The bathroom was really small and our beds had a lot of noticable hair in them. We were in and out all weekend so not a lot of time was spent here but we really considered checking out early and finding another hotel. I would recommend spending the extra cash to have a comfortable hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to us. I am very sorry that your overall impression of the room and the sheet issue left you with such a desire to stay in another hotel. It appears that we have the need to improve in some basic areas of quality. While the size of the bathroom is difficult to change, the good news is that in the upcoming near future, our location will be renovated. Once this process is complete, I hope you give us another opportunity so you are able to witness and be part of such of improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.