We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable time at the Comfort Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downers Grove

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downers Grove to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3010 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Downers Grove
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hinsdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable time at the Comfort Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've enjoyed my stay at this hotel in the past & my recent stay was just as enjoyable. Although there was quite a bit of remodeling going on at the hotel, I couldn't hear any of the noise in my room. What made my stay especially pleasant was the courtesy & helpfulness of the hotel manager, Rowie Zamora. She made sure that my room was comfortable & that the breakfast buffet was tasty. What impressed me the most about Rowie was that as well-dressed as she was, she also helped her staff clean the tables & made sure that the food trays were constantly filled. That's what I call leading by example. I will certainly visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side facing the outdoor pool are quieter. Also the hotel will upgrade you to a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us here in TripAdvisor. Your kind and thoughtful words are very much appreciated. And your review not just helps us but also help travellers like you decide where to stay and gives them an idea what type of service the hotel provide. I am proud to say that most of my staff learn from what they see in me and that makes them future leaders in the hospitality industry.
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
15
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I liked the hotel's convenient location. it's next to I-88 & I-355. my room was across from the elevator, yet I never heard any traffic or hall noise! we did hear the worker's cutting saw at 7:30 AM as we were directly above him as he worked on the new lobby. anywhere away from the elevator will be quieter, if you want to sleep late. free breakfast has 1 hot divided pan per day. it's either biscuits/ gravy or scrambled eggs/meat. they have a waffle maker, boiled eggs, hot & cold cereals, fresh fruits, donuts, muffins, yogurt, toast, real juice (orange & apple), & coffees. the staff was very polite and attentive. they post the 5 day forecast at the front desk (a nice gesture)! beds were very comfy! furniture is updated & nice.
WARNING:
if there is ANY chance of rain, the POOL AREA will be CLOSED. you can't even enjoy the deck or inner courtyard! it had rained prior to 10 AM & pool was closed ALL DAY because there was a 10% chance it might rain later that night. we were shocked! it was sunny & hot & we noticed that the other pools in area hotels were ALL open. this was 4th of July weekend! the next day, it was again hot & sunny. the pool was still closed "because of a 0-10% chance of rain". really? I believe they look for an EXCUSE TO KEEP IT CLOSED because they only have 1 person to run the front desk, keep the breakfast going, & keep an eye on the pool area. I guess because the lobby is temporary, due to construction, they have no video monitoring of the pool area. they should put a NOTE on the choice hotel & trip advisor web sites to say they have an unusually strict pool area closing policy! many people expect the outdoor pool area to be open in the middle of summer! kids will be disappointed. we chose this hotel because of the nice pool area. too bad you can't use it! come on...OPEN THAT POOL!

Room Tip: it will be noisy near elevator due only to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us a review here in TripAdvisor. My apologies if there was a misunderstanding with the pool being closed that day. The pool was closed earlier that morning but was open that afternoon and I believe that we had some guests who were in the pool area that afternoon. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the great service provided by the staff and the variety of food that was offered by our hotel during breakfast. I hope that you can find time to come back this summer and give us another chance to make your stay 100% enjoyable.
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The good: Got a great weekly price on the phone. About 2/3 of what was offered online. The desk staff was very helpful, with one exception. Desk quick to offer needed supplies. Quick repair of broken towel rod.
The bad: Lounge closed for renewal. Outside windows with ladders and caulkers at work.
Water pooled under air conditioner. Had to make several trips to the desk when towel rod broke, toilet clogged, toilet paper ran out, more towels needed. Had don't disturb sign on door until 10 AM one day and the room was never cleaned. Desk clerk made excuses. There is no help for problems later in the day, other than the supply closet. They don't keep an spare TP roll in the bathroom. Breakfast was put away one half hour early one day. All days but one, the hot tray was "biscuits and gravy". Beware of "extended stay" as there is only minimal trash pickup scheduled on alternate days.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is a puddle under the air conditioner, and that there is sufficient toilet pap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us here in TripAdvisor. From the whole team of Comfort Inn Downers Grove please accept our apology if we did not meet your expectation. Our hotel is blessed with great staff who is customer service oriented by heart. I would like to thank you for your business and maybe one day you can give us one more chance to prove to you that my staff is alawys willing to go above and beyond to any of our hotel guests. Again, my sincere apologies for all of the inconvenience and I truly appreciate that you chose to stay at our hotel and also took the time to inform us about your stay.
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We make frequent visits from San Diego to visit our grandkids in Glen Ellyn and for the last ten years always stayed her.
The rooms were always clean, quiet and pleasant. The hot breakfast was always delicious and the strong coffe got us going for the day with the kids.
And most of all the saff was always courteous an friendly.
With the new renovation of the rooms and the lobby this place is that much better than the large hotels.
We will definietely return.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here in TripAdvisor. Your kind words are very much appreciated and I will definitely share your comments with my team. We thank you too for your patience and understanding that the hotel is undergoing renovation right now. We hope to see you real soon when you visit your family and we can't wait to show you our new hotel when you get back.
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend tournament in the area and they were pet friendly. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The but is the fact that as a "Non-Smoking" hotel the "Pet friendly rooms" WREAKED of horrible smoking smell!!! We've stayed in many pet friendly properties before and these rooms were the WORST. Sorry my pet does not stink of cigarettes. You would not know we stayed with a pet after we were gone. The remodel was a bit of a pain as well because half the time the rear card readers didn't work and the pet rooms were on the complete opposite end from the unlocked "reception" door.

Room Tip: Pet rooms are on back side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us here in TripAdvisor. Please accept our apology if we did not meet your all your expectations during your stay. It is our goal to make each guest stay comfortable as possible and comments from valued guests like you are very much appreciated. Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness & courteousness of the staff.
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We need to travel 350 miles to the Chicago area for medical reasons. We were unhappy with several of our stays at other hotels in the western suburbs. During a very disapointing stay at another hotel, one day we drove around to check out others in the area and walked into this Comfort Inn. We were extreemly impressed with the manager, after we told her our story, she assured us if we were to stay at this property we would not be disapointed. At our next visit, several months later, we did give the hotel a chance and without a reservation. The manager remembered us, and our prior conversation. That was more than a year and a half ago. We now have been staying at this hotel and plan to for every visit to the area. We have never been dissapointed. The staff is professional, curtious and helpful. The room is comfortable and clean: just what we need after a long drive and the with the stress of an upcoming doctor appointments. The hotel is so conviently located along with many restaurants near by. Major highway access is just a stones throw away. We highly recomend this hotel due to the manager, her staff and the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much 309Kath309 for taking time from your busy schedule to give us a review here in TripAdvisor. It is our goal to make each guest stay as wonderful and comforatble as possible. I am glad that you found a new home at our Hotel whenever visiting the Chicago Suburbs. We tried and am happy to know that we have another satisfied guest and now a regular patron ours. Again THANK YOU!
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I seem to end up in the Chicagoland area quite often and I always come back to stay at this hotel. Still going through some extensive renovations and it is turning into quite the property. The hotel staff are always welcoming and friendly and the rooms are just what you need. Looking forward to seeing the end result of all the modifications. It's close proximity to great restaurants is another added plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnDG, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downers Grove, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
u3c2494 Thank you for taking time to review us here in TripAdsvisor. We are so pleased and we love the heading that you described our hotel. It is because of loyal guests like you is the reason why we strive for excellence. Rest assured we will not change but continue to be better. Again Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Rowie Zamora - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downers Grove

Address: 3010 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downers Grove 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downers Grove is the perfect location for your stay in the suburbs. Situated close to Interstate 355 and I88. Rated one of the best hotels in Downers Grove in Trip Advisor. Only 25 minutes away from Downtown Chicago and O'Hare Airport. Whether travelling for Business or Leisure we'll always make you feel right at home. 120 newly renovated guest rooms that can accommodate big groups. A meeting space is also available with an extra fee. Enjoy FREE Parking, FREE High Speed Internet Access (both Wifi & Hardwire), FREE use of Business Center, FREE access on our outdoor pool(seasonal) and enjoy the COMPLIMENTARY HOT BREAKFAST (make your own waffle, hard boiled egg, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, Free Coffee & tea 24 hours and Great staff 24/7 at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Downers Grove Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downers Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.