We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Jam Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Honey Jam Cafe
Frontage Rd., 3000 Oak Grove Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515
(630) 963-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's okay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Tried this resto for a quick lunch with colleagues after a meet & greet with clients. It's okay nothing so great. But don't try the steak, just go for the burgers or anything except the steak. Service is so so.... when you dine on the busy hour expect servers not to pay much attention to you if you need a refill. You need to be very patient. Don't come to eat when you are very hungry and craving for great food - you will be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Hello Waiter, we're here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We arrived at restaurant and were seated. The waiter got our drink order, but after partially bringing our drinks, he forgot us, chit chatting with another table. He did not acknowledge us when we needed refills. When he finally our food order, he did get it correct and food came fairly fast. However, once again we were forgotten and he went back to chatting with other table.
Food was very good, average portions, served warm, good presentation.
When we did ask for bill and take out boxes he dropped off boxes and forgot our ticket. We were actually going to get up after long wait and pay at cashier, when waiter did show up.
Overall all it was unfortunate that an otherwise good meal in a nice restaurant was marred by lousy service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I loved the food and the atmosphere at Honey Jam. There was so much to choose from on the menu. I will definitely go back to try more!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, KS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Came here while on a recent trip. Took a little while for our waiter to stop by the table, but he got our drink order in pretty quick, then proceeded to provide excellent service. Loved the interior of the restaurant, with a big fireplace in the center and a terrific tan and brown color scheme to match the restaurant's theme. One of us had bananas foster crepes, one nutella and banana crepes and the other a western skillet. Each meal was filling, especially the skillet. Food was good. Upon finishing the meal, we were offered coffee to go, a huge plus for the big coffee drinker in the group ... I was going to give 4 "stars," but the others in my party feel it's worth 5. So 5 it is.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast - came here 2 days in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I came here with friends for breakfast before a long day of hiking. The food was great, and set us up for a full day on the trail. The next day we did another trip; again we agreed to meet for breakfast. We considered other places, but having enjoyed Honey-Jam so much we returned.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Jam Cafe also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Honey Jam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Jam Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.