We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Egg Harbor Cafe

Egg Harbor Cafe
5128 Mochel Drive, Downers Grove, IL 60515
630-963-0390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 147 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Egg Harbor Café is a restaurant specializing in gourmet breakfast and lunch creations served from 6:30 am to 2:00 pm daily, in a warm, charming, country setting with fast, friendly and efficient service.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a very nice family breakfast. The wait was easy with the complimentary coffee and other DG window shopping spots nearby. Nice variety for the whole family...giant pancakes for my son, tasty Skillets for me and my wife, and cheese grits for my daughter. On a Sunday morning, it can get a little loud and you may feel the pressure to eat and get out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Aimee F, General Manager at Egg Harbor Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Sean, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We value your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed your visit! See you soon. Take care.
-Angelique Chillman
Egg Harbor Café Downers Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Breakfast Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I'm an omelette kind of guy and my wife more of a crepe person, but we both can found something we like. The menu is big and varied, The portions are not gigantic but we often bring something home. Coffee is great,service staff are warm and friendly, and I never had a bad meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Aimee F, General Manager at Egg Harbor Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Bob, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We value your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed your visit! See you soon. Take care.
-Angelique Chillman
Egg Harbor Café Downers Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and 2 kids (9 & 12) have eaten here multiple times. It is one of the few restaurants we can always agree upon and where everyone can find something on the menu that meets their needs. I like that there are multiple healthy options. My family are more traditional breakfast restaurant eaters. We always get good service and feel like it is a nice family outing when we go here. We live in the area and have rode our bikes there and it is nice to walk around the downtown Downers Grove area. It is always a good choice for our family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Aimee F, General Manager at Egg Harbor Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Mike, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We value your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed your visit! See you soon. Take care. -Angelique Chillman
Egg Harbor Café Downers Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Totally worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My 4-year-old and I went there around 10:30 am on a Saturday and there was a 20 minutes wait. My son was hungry but the waiting outside on a sunny summer day was not that bad. Finally we went in and we ordered something typical you would order for breakfast. The food was large in portion and both my son and I had a great time. Waitress was nice, too. The environment was fabulous. I like how clean the restaurant was. We sat by the window so we could see the beautiful view there. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place is always busy. And for good reason! It's great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you're anywhere near Downers Grove, you've heard of Egg Harbor. As you'll see on their logo, they've been an institution since 1985.
Most popular for their breakfast offerings, they're open into the afternoon for brunch and lunch too.
You would expect the service to suffer, given the volume of patrons served - especially on the weekends. But it doesn't.
Pancakes, omelettes and skillets never disappoint.
Be sure to bring your appetite though! Portion sizes are not small!
The bottom line is that the food is good, as is the value for your money. And you're in and out as quickly as you want to be.
Definitely recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egg Harbor Cafe also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Egg Harbor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egg Harbor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.