We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, but this is not my cup of tea” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
1500 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515
630-495-9033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 147 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sorry, but this is not my cup of tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This isn't a restaurant, it's a very loud burger and hotdog cafeteria with tiny tables. Won't be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for what it is! A fun family style restaurant !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great food, great service at high-powered and efficient service - For this patron, accoustics are far too noisy to enjoy the food - We prefer ordering through the drive-through, and eating in quieter surroundings - but the Food is fun, delicious and great, every time! I do recommend Portillos!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago. illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Try it-you'll like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If your looking for a great fast food meal, this is the place. We've been going to Portillo's for years and always enjoyed their food.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Prohibition Era theme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

All Portillos restaurants have a theme. This one is loaded with 1920's antiques and artifacts Known for their beef sandwiches. A separate salad preparation is available for those of you who don't want meat. All the food choices are good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I have loved Portillos beef for 43 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Portillos beef has been my "standard" since I first ate there. Also like the hot dogs, burgers, fries, etc. It is my "happy meal" when I treat myself to a dipped Portillo's beef sandwich!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portillo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.