We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Raw Vegan option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borrowed Earth Cafe

Borrowed Earth Cafe
970 Warren Ave, Downers Grove, IL 60515-3614
630-795-1729
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 147 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan
Restaurant details
PedEye1
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great Raw Vegan option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

There aren't many comparable restaurant options in suburbia, or even in the entire metropolitan area, truthfully. Nuts are used liberally as faux dairy and meats. I've never had a bad meal or even dish at Borrowed Earth. But you kind of have to be in the mood for a raw vegan meal. The owners are genuine, and I really want this place to do well, even though I will only dine here myself occasionally.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, Illinois
1 review
“Unaccptible treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The food was just o.k. There are so many RAW food restaurants that are outstanding - do not waste your time here - especially the way they treat customers. Neither owner welcomed us or could even break a smile. They were all very rude. When asked to repeat things they acted as if we were not worth the time. The cost is higher than said on the page - no entrees were lower than about $19 and everything else was about $9.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Delicious Raw Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I go out of my way to make it to this raw vegan restaurant regularly. I often meet a friend or bring my daughter who loves their "Banana Split," yes, for lunch, all organic and no added sugars. I love everything on the menu and have a tough time selecting, from the starters to the entrees and the oh too yummy desserts, you must make this a favorite spot. The owners, Danny & Kathy Living, are very knowledgable and helpful when it comes to eating raw. As Hippocrates said, "Let food be your medicine."

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“High Quality Raw Vegan - a great introduction and a great way to keep upgrading your diet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I ate at Borrowed Earth during a trip to Chicago. We drove out to Downers Grove to see Kathy, a high school class mate, and her husband, Danny. She owns the place. He washes the dishes. :) Kathy waits on everyone in the place , which is why she is so knowledgeable - she creates the food and then can tell you all about it.

Although I know Kathy, I don't think this review is biased. I had been looking forward to eating in her restaurant for a long time. I've been upgrading my diet and that of my family and I was curious to see the inventive ways that Kathy works with vegan ingredients to create exciting dishes. I was so delighted. My husband and I had the two specials, which I photographed and attached here. The portions are large and satisfying, although I admit we also had dessert, which is a wonderful and regular treat in the raw and vegan diet.

Try this place out and talk Kathy up. Or go sit at the counter and chat with Danny. Both are incredibly knowledgeable and will teach you anything about improving your diet and feeling great. But they aren't vigilantes about their passion. They love working with their customers and it shows. And they love creating delicious food.

After eating at Borrowed Earth, I think it is going to be hard to find veg*n offerings that meet these standards. I know they don't exist in my home town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Try Something different and Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

This is a great find. The food is excellent and it's vegan, raw, and almost entirely gluten free! It was so creative and tasty. I had the "baked" spaghetti special. Wonderful. And the side salads were very good too. Others with me had the falafala and the "hamburger." the service was good with excellent knowledge of each dish and ingredients. the casual and quiet atmosphere was a nice break from the norm. We will definitely go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borrowed Earth Cafe also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Borrowed Earth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borrowed Earth Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.