We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why we keep going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwood Tap House

Rockwood Tap House
3131 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1132
630-964-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rockwood Tap House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 147 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why we keep going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good food, good prices, good service and good atmosphere. It's a combination that is starting to bring us to the same place more and more often.

Starting with the food. Others have lauded the burgers ($10 and good!), the Cedar Plank Salmon ($18) and the beers. Agree! These are consistently among the better versions we find in the Western Chicago suburbs. At their prices, it would be unfair to expect gourmet; but they are always good.

Service from nice people. We consistently find the servers to be pleasant and effective. Some outstanding and some just pleasant and effective. What more would you expect from a casual place and moderate prices?

The atmosphere is "modern bar." Flagstones, dark wood, moderately low lighting, and a sound level that allows your party to hear each other.

That's it! No miracles, just consistent, good, pleasant, moderate. If you go, we may see you there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was recently in town on business, and came here for dinner one night. I had the portobella burger, and was pleasnantly surprised to find I could have fresh fruit as a side instead of fries. The mandarins and strawberries were an excellent touch to an already excellent burger. I give the restaurant a very good instead of excellent because the service wasn't as quick as I would have liked, but it was still good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Cedar Plank Salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Occasionally I enjoy a place that has a good selection of beers on tap which is what drew me to eat here one night. Not knowing the food I asked the manager what their specialty was and he suggested either prime rib, salmon or a burger. The salmon was quite good ... nicely cooked with a nice orange ginger sauce on top. I also tried the cheesecake which was good. They had a good selection of beer and plenty of TV all tuned to different sports stations. Overall a good meal for an expected price at similar restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great specials!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the specials offered at Rockwood Tap ! We went for the Monday $4.99 burger special. Toppings were additional. They pride themselves on beers on tap being chilled to 32 degrees. So, of course we didn't have beer! Also join the VIP email club to get a free appetizer with food/beverage purchase. It's all explained in the email. Enjoyable place. Easy to get to. We did not feel hurried.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great place good food- this is the secondtime we were there and if you join their VIP club you get a free appetizer on your first visit then you get 20% off your bill for your birthday- Good selection of beer not the biggest in the area but alot of new ones to try if your a hops buff- Food is great best onion rings around and an amazing portobella mushroom sandwich- not to mention all the soups are fantastic- the two times I've been there its never been a problem being seated right away but even with it not busy service isn't always the best our server kept disappearing- but it isn't the worst either! Resonably priced and definately going back!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockwood Tap House also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Rockwood Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwood Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.