We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Lake State Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dewitt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clinton Lake State Park
Save
You added Clinton Lake State Park to your Saves list
R.R. #1, Box 4, Dewitt, IL 61735   |  
Hotel amenities
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The beach is nice but if you go into the water you will feel the rocks underneath and you will smell the fumes left by passing motor yachts and water scooters. Also, the urinals in the men's restroom at the beach house were out of order. In general the area is very attractive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a wonderful place to camp. Clean shower house's, and simple a comfortable place to be out in elements for a week or even a night. The only negative comment I have about this camping area is the site 1 employee (site 2 couple are great) that is suppose to take $ for to fill up campsite. Rude don't care attitude is unpleasant.

Don't let that keep you from this beautiful place to spend great nights with friends and family!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

First let me say, it should be mentioned that this park shares the same lake as a nuclear generating station. The water was 99 degrees and not refreshing at all. The showers are okay, but the toilets are disgusting. It was hard to find our campsite as none of the signs are illuminated and hard to see when its getting dark. Would I stay here again NO.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We've been camping here for nearly thirty years. : ) Took my boys when they were young and now we take their kids. We just returned from a nine day stay on K Loop and I love that loop as much as I did the first time I camped it. The campground is quiet at night, busy on the weekends, but pretty much empty during the week
The pit toilets could have been a bit cleaner and I'm not sure why one would be spotless and the one on the other side of the wall was dirty and smelly with dead bugs everywhere. Speaking of bugs, the whole campground is crawling with hornets/wasps and if you leave your car windows open they will definitely come to visit. No mosquito problems, though.
The shower house had a sign on the door warning that the water is VERY hot. By the end of our stay the sign had been replaced with one that said "NO HOT WATER" . We had five kids with us but I don't think we used that much hot water. Interesting to note in the shower house-there is an accessible shower but no bench to sit on. Therefore, should a mobility challenged camper who uses a wheelchair attempt to shower he/she would either have to stand (and this might not be possible) or shower while sitting in the wheelchair. Likewise, I'm sure there are many people who, for one reason or another, need to sit while showering. There used to be benches in the showers, but they have been removed.
The beach house with showers and changing area is a welcome feature. Only cold water in the showers there. The beach itself is nice and clean, but very rocky. We had to go out and buy water shoes. When I had been here previously the sand was soft-this is more like gravel and once you enter the water it's more like marbles. Not soft at all. There are several picnic tables with grills. No lifeguards, but the swimming area is marked with buoys. Use fee $1 pp/pd. They have tube rentals, ice cream, and a concession stand.
This area is very well maintained, park staff is friendly, as are the resident raccoons, who will no doubt avail themselves of any morsel you happen to leave out within walking distance of their den. Lock your coolers, put everything away behind closed doors. they will arrive even before you've gone to bed at night, sitting there in the dark, their beady little eyes following your every move as they memorize where you attempted to hide your foodstuffs. We found the baby's bottle, empty, half way down the path to the beach. . .and bread! They will eat ALL your bread!! ALL of it!! Don't say I didn't warn you.
Looking forward to the next trip. This is one of our all-time favorite campgrounds in IL.

Room Tip: Lots of nice, shady sites available, many with paths directly to the lake. Sunsets are beautiful fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I recently spent a weekend camping at the Clinton lake State Park Campgrounds. It was a very well-maintained and clean park and campground and I would recommend it. All of the sites seem to have trees and good grassy areas. There are not many full-hook-up sites. A lot only have electric and a community yard hydrants. And many sites are “first come- first serve”. If you want a specific type of site, I would recommend calling and trying to reserve it ahead of time.

The roads are all asphalt and the sites all have gravel or concrete pads (for handicap accessible sites). I did not see any pull-through sites. There are several bath houses with showers and toilets but they could use some updates and more cleaning . The showers were either VERY hot or very cold. And pressure was very weak. The mirrors are “metal” so they are not real good for detail work (i.e. putting in contacts). There are several playground areas and a very large beach area ($1/person for the day) with both grassy areas and sand. There is no glass or alcohol allowed at the beach.

The marina is easy and accessible as well. The campground area has “hiking paths” that pull from the sites and go back into the woods down to the lakes. This is an interesting way to see the rustic areas of the park.

There is a concession area and restaurant and we were told their food is very good. It is adjacent to the beach area.

Some words of advice. Watch your speed! The IDNR employees really watch the speeds through the park. Also, the “outhouses”, although on a concrete floor in a brick building, were very buggy and smelly. So if you have a problem with odors, you may have to either drive to the bath house or bring your own facilities.

In summary, Clinton lake Campground is a very clean and family friendly campground at a very reasonable price with excellent services.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clinton Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Lake State Park

Address: R.R. #1, Box 4, Dewitt, IL 61735
Location: United States > Illinois > Dewitt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dewitt
Number of rooms: 612
Also Known As:
Clinton Lake State Park Hotel Dewitt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinton Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.