We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Korean food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Seoul Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Seoul Restaurant
638 W Algonquin Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60016-5703
(847) 439-3720
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 148 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Korean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Was here alone, so I didn't do the whole BBQ-at-the-table thing. A bit intimidating, as the menu is mostly in Korean with just a bit of English description. Had the Bi Bim Bap (excellent), and the side pickles / kimchi / etc. were all quite good. I'd like to come back with a group and try the BBQ menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food/Culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Korean BBQ at the table. So much fun! The soup and meats are excellent. Lots of veggies. If your not interested in BBQ they have a full menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasty break in airport-land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a long trip eating bland airline food in a nasty economy seat, New Seoul was a welcome relief. The crispy seafood pancake (pa jun) and well marinated bbq short ribs (kalbi) cut through the jet lag to provide a satisfying supper.

As with many Korean bbq's, there's a two order minimum for charcoal grilling, so our single kalbi order was cooked in the kitchen. Even without the wood smoke, the meat was remarkably tasty and sliced thinly for easy dining.

The earnest, personal service was also welcome after a day of corporation mandated pleasantries.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here when I was early for an O'Hare departure and still had my car. Good choice!! The spicy kimchi stew (kimchi jigae?) was outstanding and perfect on a snowy evening. I'll have to try the BBQ next time. Can't believe reviewers have complained that a Korean BBQ place got smoky....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent New Year's Day lunch at the New Seoul restaurant. I had been to Korean BBQ before a long time ago when I lived in Asia but not with charcoal. The friendly owner came over and asked if he could tell a few suggestions. When we tried to order more food he said it was not much. We agreed on a main BBQ which comes with around 9 little nibble dishes. We ordered beef and prawns for our BBQ and mushrooms. These were no average mushroom. Very large, mushroom with a very soft flavor. In the beginning the owner showed us how to do the cooking so we could get an idea of how to do it. The owner was a great salesman. He made it easy for us to enjoy our meal and the food was outstanding. There is a fair amount of smoke but it goes up a vent over the BBQ. But don't wear you finest outfit. The food is worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Seoul Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Seoul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Seoul Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.