We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel next to noisy freeway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 S. River Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel next to noisy freeway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at Chicago O'Hare without a reservation and the very helpful Marriott shuttle driver booked a room for me at the Courtyard over the phone.
It was a family room with two huge beds, very modern and clean the only drawback is the noise from the freeway about a hundred yards away which is deafening and never stops. As I was catching the 06:05 flight to Atlanta in the morning I needed to sleep but the noise from outside didn't help.
It's a very nice hotel but if you go there get a room away from the traffic for a good nights sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor Review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. Please accept my apologies that the noise from the toll way deprived you of a good night’s sleep - I know how important that can be!
We appreciate you feedback and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to the area.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott!
Respectfully,
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    90
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
52
34
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been staying there due to missing some connection and i could say it was a nice experience.
Very convenient situated near a casino you can have drinks at any time as long as you could have fun. Room was clean, nice, big. Beds were comfortable, pillows were goods.
Yet the wake up call was i little late as i was with the shuttle but they were very nice and ask the shuttle to return as i was just missed it with few seconds.

Over all a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review of your recent experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were glad to read that your experience with us was a positive one and that your wakeup call and our shuttle did not cause you to any further delays in getting to your destination.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

the courtyard is in a great location if you want to be close to the airport. room was clean and updated with a comfortable bed, no complaints except that the freeway is right near te hotel. I could hear the traffic all night - even with ear plugs. The good news is that that was the only noise you could hear. Overall the room was quiet, staff was friendly enough. There is no free breakfast though. :(
I would stay here again but ask for a room away from the highway and bring money for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for sharing your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare with our TripAdvisor followers. We truly appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Chicago land Area.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott!
All the best,
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

For a Courtyard it's better than many. Hotel has the new lobby renovation that Marriott has been doing and the room was nicer than many. Room felt newer and cleaner than a lot of aging Courtyards. I will definitely stay here again when staying by ORD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review of your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were glad to read that your experience with us was a positive one and the you found our staff to friendly and helpful!
We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the area.
Warm Regards,
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I've spent 25 nights in Mariott properties this year. This Courtyard had the most helpful and friendly employees without exception. The shuttle service was so convenient, it made the entire visit much easier. The room was clean, the food service was good, and the pool was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 TripAdvisor Rating! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor Friends and Followers and look forward to your return.

Thank you again for choosing Marriot!

All the best!
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had the worst customer service I have ever had in my life by a young man named Jude. His manager was rude and unhelpful. The maids failed to clean my room TWICE during my week long stay. They attempted to blame it on me, even though I NEVER put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. I never do because I love the luxury of walking into a perfect room at the end of a long day. They did very little to apologize and said I should understand they are short staffed and it may have been overlooked, IF I infact didn't hang the DO NOT DISTURB sign. I found the total experience devalued the Marriott and my experience. I am a business man and I would never treat any of my clients the way I was treated.
I am not even sure of the employees names because they were not wearing name tags, I believe the one was Jude and the other was Ed.

I hope they are reading this along with their superior.

Room Tip: If a young man with out a name tag tries to check you in ask for a manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience with us. Unfortunately, I personally don't recall having to address a service failure as describe in your review nor do we have anyone by the name of Jude on our team. In view of the seriousness of your comments, I would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with you directly. An experience of this nature is not the level of service we want our guest to experience. I can be reached at 847-824-7000.
Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to speaking with you directly.
Respectfully,
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Wilbraham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been staying with some lovely friends in the USA and as I flew into O'Hare airport thought that I would check in here and visit the city of Chicago on my way home. Very good choice of hotel; weather not so good which has messed up plans somewhat, but that's another tale. The hotel is spotlessly clean and is near to a huge complex which has a casino and numerous bars and restaurants that I have yet to try out. I had dinner in the hotel last night and it was very good, just like a diner with a fairly basic menu, but I never went away hungry..!! Food and drink are a little pricey but very tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review of your recent experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to the city and look forward to you staying with us again on your next visit to Chicago!
All the Best
Ed Brunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Address: 2950 S. River Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago o`Hare Hotel Des Plaines
Courtyard Hotel Des Plaines
Courtyard Des Plaines
Des Plaines Marriott
Des Plaines Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.