We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel works!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 East Touhy Avenue, Des Plaines, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This hotel works!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Chicago celebrating my mothers 85th birthday with family and friends (16 of us). We needed a hotel within range of downtown and parking for a 40' motorhome, Radisson O'hare stood out in our search and more than stood out as a hotel that knows how to treat customers. The hotel is clean, well managed, reasonably priced, plenty of amenities, the location works, no problems. Thumbs up!!

Free parking for a motorhome in Chicago? At our dinner stop last night they wanted $19 for parking a vehicle.

Hotel manager Kai Chow should be awarded the "Best Hotel Manager in the USA" for his efforts. He and I went on a little walk to see where he recommended we park the motorhome. As we walked, he picked up the 2 pieces of paper in the entire lot, he solved that problem, now the lot is spotless and we found a great spot to park the motorhome. When he found out why we were visiting (grandmas birthday) he immediately arranged a decorated cake for us, candles, plates, utensils and a very nice young lady to serve it for us when we returned from our evening out. It wasn't a little cake, but a large sheet cake...did I mention.. delicious?

The rooms are clean, hallways clean, common areas are clean, bathrooms, bar, everything gets attention. The employees were all friendly and very polite.

The rooms have everything you should need, and if you need more attention, I'm sure someone will help you out. Only negative to the rooms are the bathrooms are a bit small, but we all survived. The hotel is a bit spread out, so it can be a jaunt to the front desk.

You are close to the airport and the planes do fly a pattern overhead, but they were landing most of the time we were there, so the noise level was minimal. Hey, it's cheap entertainment to watch them coming in!

Sleep Number beds, lots of pillows, large flat screen TV, just like home! There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance and their shuttle will take you to the casino or the airport.

All in all a very positive experience and a no brainer when it comes to the question "Where do we stay in Chicago?"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Michael,

Thank you for taking time to write about your hotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to know that all went well and your family had a wonderful time in Chicago. Your compliments will be shared with all associates. And on a personal note, thank you for the generous compliment on my service. It is very gratifying to ensure and to learn that our guests are happy with the services and amenities received.

We are looking forward to your next trip to the area.

Best Wishes.

Sincerely,

Kai Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    193
    88
    22
    19
See reviews for
100
106
53
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very reasonably priced, friendly staff and within 10 minutes from O'Hare airport. The shuttle was right on time when we left for the airport and when we were picked up from the airport. There are many restaurants by this hotel and a Target right next door for those last minute travel items you may have forgotten! We will definitely choose this hotel again as our park and fly!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write and share your hotel experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and all went well with your trip.

We also want to thank you for the compliments and feedback. There will be shared with our associates.

Best regards and have a wonderful summer season!

Sincerely,

Kai Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I always chose this hotel when I go to the office, a few buildings away. People are always welcoming. I enjoy the shuttle back and forth from the airport, as well as immediate access to a variety of restaurants and Super Target. The place is cozy and clean and I get to enjoy early breakfast (my workplace provides for coupons). The place has been renovated quite recently. Looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time off your busy schedule to write about your hotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stays at the Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare. Thank you for the compliments and feedback! We shall share them with our associates.

We are looking forward to your next visit to your office.

Best Regards.

Kai Chow
General Manager
Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Most reasonably prices airport hotels are worn out as are their staffs
The Radison ORD DesPlaines is a welcome contrast and is very well run!
First it is super clean and the staff is as welcoming and eager to help, one would believe they are in the far eats. Good attitudes.
My two demands for a hotel room are a firm bed and a generous shower hey score A+ on both counts
There rooms are modern bit are easy to operate. In short you do not need a Ph.D to use the TV or lights.

They are across the street from a good shopping center and a few yards from many restaurants … their breakfast was included in my room rate and was a full american breakfasts served HOT

Hard to complain and I am quite a critic

PTB Honolulu (former Chicago hotelier)

Room Tip: Ask for a room location what serves your needs..in advance and phone if running late and get the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your hotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We would like to thank you for your compliments on the services you received during your stay. There will be shared with our associates. Feedback is critical for our hotel to continue to provide a high level of service, cleanliness, safety and comfort to our guests. Again, thank you.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards.

Kai Chow
General Manager
Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unless you plan on being out most of the night and getting up super early I would not recommend this hotel at all. I went to see a concert at the Allstate Arena right across the street (excellent location is why I picked this hotel), came back with my friends and stayed awake discussing the concert and the whole hotel was alive with noise. People walking past the windows (I was on 1st floor) until all hours of the night, lots of noise starting at 5 am (way too early for me as I just got to bed at 2 am.) People outside on their patios or balconies smoking cigarettes and the smell just came right in the windows which were closed! My friend had her room on the 4th floor and some people just started pounding on her door at 3 am insisting this was their room and she better get out, the police were actually called and were trying to handle things. Housekeeping started knocking on my door at 8 am even with the DO NOT DISTURB SIGN ON THE DOOR! The front desk were rude, unhelpful, didn't care and really came off as they did not want to be there at all. My reservations were for king beds and they didn't have any, my reservations were for rooms adjoining, they didn't have any, so I asked for rooms on same floor, they couldn't do that either. I would never go back, I would stay farther away and pay for a taxi to go to the concert in the future. If you love noise and don't plan on sleeping or if you love the smell of cigarette smoke coming in your windows at 2 in the morning then this is the place for you, if not STAY AWAY!!!! THE ONLY POSITIVE IS THE BEDS ARE SLEEP NUMBER BEDS AND VERY COMFY!!!!

Room Tip: HELPFUL ROOM TIP...stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Bridget,

Thank you for taking time to share your hotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent stay.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated to help us fine tune our hotel operations to provide a more comfortable and enjoyable hotel experience.

We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you and best regards.

Kai Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We drove from Michigan and stayed at this hotel the night before our flight. Check-in process was quick and they provided directions on where to park our car for the week. We had dinner at Longhorn which was very good and allowed us to return to our room quickly. We also stayed one night after returning from our vacation. I could do without the sleep number bed but my 8 year old enjoyed it. LOL! Anyway, high marks for the shuttle service. Only a 7 minute wait when we returned. That is the fastest I've ever experienced. Bathrooms are small, for one night, it was ok. Not sure it would have been comfortable for more than a day. Overall, highly recommend this location and will use on our next flight out of Chicago.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Lisa,

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We are very to learn that you enjoyed your recent hotel stay and had the chance to sample the services and amenities offered. Please bring your family back during the summer months to enjoy our outdoor pool and the sleep number beds especially for your 8-year old.

We would also like to thank you for kind compliment on our services and the feedback on the bathroom. Your comment is taken into consideration for our next renovation.

Look forward to your next visit in the area.

Best Regards.

Kai Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

For anyone that needs to stay at a hotel near the Chicago O'hare airport, this hotel provides a great location, shuttle service, great value and has updated rooms that reflect the Radisson quality. I have been using this hotel for many years and will continue doing so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiChow, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Doug,

Thank you for taking time to share your hotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel.

The entire team at the hotel would like to thank you for returning to stay with us and the kind compliments.

We will continue to provide a superior level of service expected of us for your future stays.

Once again, thank you.

Kai Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare

Address: 1450 East Touhy Avenue, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare has just completed a major renovation in July 2011. The in-room look-and-feel and amenities are comparable to a 4 or 5-star hotel in the area.Hotel is located across the street from restaurants, financial institutions and shopping.The lobby provides guests with a comfortable and quiet atmosphere and at the same time offers a functional and available business center. Free wi-fi internet access for hotel guest only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Chicago o Hare
Radisson Hotel Chicago Ohare
Radisson Des Plaines
Des Plaines Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.