We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 South River Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. The van/shuttle service is very good.You are very close to Giordano's Pizzeria, this is the best pizza ever.You are not far from the train station, so getting a train to down town is easy and conveniant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Daryl,
I just wanted to write you to thank you for taking the time to respond to our on-line survey. We appreciate your feedback!

I will be more than happy to share your comments with the rest of our team! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for staying with us. If I can be of personal assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Dan Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    177
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
196
140
82
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here July 2014 for 3 nights. Absolutely nothing to complain about EXCEPT for the food which I gave a 7 out of 10. However my rating must be taken in perspective as I did not try everything on the menu. The shuttle service was my personal favorite as I was able to move around within environs easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Brendon,

Thanks for taking the time to post on our Tripadvisor page. I have shared your comments with the rest of our team. Please let us know if you are not happy with the quality of our food next time you are in. We'll be more than happy to ensure your satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us!

Dan Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co. CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

There are so many choices in the O'hare area - I'll likely pick another next time. Arrived late into ORD, and then waited 45 min for the shuttle to arrive. Bad start. The were two desk clerks - one was already busy, the other just kept her head down while I waited. Finally - in the room at 2am. I will say the room is super quiet, even tho the planes are flying right overhead.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear smontague2868,

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience during your stay with us. Rest assured, I followed up with all concerned individuals to prevent this type of incident from happening in the future.
If I, personally, can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contacting me directly.

Sincerely,
Dan Garcia
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We chose the hilton after a horrific stay at another chicago hotel based on trip advisor reviews. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay relaxing. They had put a room on hold for us on the top floor at the end of a hall because a family reunion was taking up many of the other floors. I guess the staff thought we needed a brake after our previous night. The room was standard but clean. Everything worked and the bed was firm but not rock hard. Checkout was easy and the shuttle to Ohare was prompt. I wish they had a standard free continental rather than trying to sex it up so they could charge $14. Overall, a very good stay and I would do it again if I'm ever laid over at O'hare.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Micah,

Thanks for your kind words in regards to your recent stay with us. I'll be sure to share them with the staff. I'll also share your comments with our Food and Beverage team to analyze the cost of our breakfast.

Thanks again, safe travels,

Dan Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Nice hotel with free parking that was pleasantly quiet even though it so close to the airport. The breakfast buffet was also very nice (additional cost / free for Hilton Gold and Diamond members). Like most Hilton Garden Inns it has a cook that can make eggs any way you like, omelets, pancakes, and waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Shashank,

I just wanted to write you to thank you for taking the time to post on our Tripadvisor page. We appreciate your feedback!

I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast and amenities. Thank you again for staying with us. If I can be of personal assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Dan Garcia
Assistant General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn O'Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I highly recommend any of the Hilton brands as I have stayed in many of their hotels over the years including the Hilton Garden Inns, the Hampton Inns, the Embassy Suites and the Homewood Suites. Have always experienced high quality in each. Choose a Hilton next time you travel you will not be disappointed they have high standards for all their brands.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Linda,

I just wanted to write you to thank you for taking the time to post on our Tripadvisor page. We appreciate your feedback!

Thank you again for staying with us at Hilton Garden Inn. If I can be of personal assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Dan Garcia
Assistant General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn O'Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I’ve never rated a hotel one star, but this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I made a reservation at the hotel, and I arrived late in the evening. When I checked in, there was no one in line, and both of the guys at the front desk were busy doing something on the computer and never looked up at me. After several seconds, one of them finally said hello. I gave him my ID and credit card, and he couldn’t find my reservation. So I pulled up my confirmation on my phone, and he couldn’t be bothered to look at it. He finally said that he couldn’t find my reservation and the hotel was full. The worst part is that he was so smug and didn’t seem to care that I had nowhere to stay tonight – he didn’t offer any apologies, no alternatives, nothing. Not even a smile. It was like I was talking to a robot that had no emotion and only went through the processing steps. The guy wasn’t humane.

The hotel looked nice and the location was ok, but to me customer service is very important. And from reading the other one star reviews, they all complained about the awful service at this hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear BoysInNY,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. I'm extremely disappointed to read the way you were treated during your time in our hotel.

I'd be very interested to find out more information about your experience. I'd like to research this instance so that I can use it as a training tool for our staff. Our goal is to consistently improve our service and this would be a great coaching opportunity for our staff. In addition, I would like to ensure your satisfaction with Hilton Hotels, particularly our hotel. Please feel free to reach me directly at the information below or via a direct message through Tripadvisor. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

I look forward to speaking with you directly. Thank you again. Have a great day!

Best regards,
Daniel Garcia
Assistant General Manager
847-296-8900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport

Address: 2930 South River Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Hilton Garden Inn hotel is a modern contemporary building featuring vaulted ceilings within the lobby and restaurant. The room decor is soft and adequately arranged for the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago o`Hare Airport Hotel Des Plaines
Hilton Garden Inn Des Plaines
Hilton Des Plaines
Des Plaines Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.