We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their catered Charity events are outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe La Cave

Cafe La Cave
2777 Mannheim Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60018
(847) 827-7818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe La Cave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 148 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Higgins and Touhy
Chicago Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Their catered Charity events are outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently went to a event at Cafe La Cave they provided the food and room. The food was some of the best I have had at this type of event. The staff was professional and when I was looking for something to drink beyond what the charity was providing they walked me to the restaurant bar and made sure that I did not have to wait for a cocktail.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An old favorite needs new energy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I have been going to this restaurant for years, especially on our anniversary. We love the romantic atmosphere of "the cave" with its dim lights, private seating, and attentive staff. Upon our most recent visit, we were somewhat disappointed. The menu had not changed in years, and portions appeared to be smaller than before. Our waiter was certainly attentive but the place was practically empty. The food was good but certainly not exceptional, especially because the prices are somewhat high. I think Cafe La Cave can use some upgrading, new energy to bring people back. It is such a unique restaurant and one that has the potential to be a standout, but it cannot compete in today's market without some attention.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food Served by Friendly People in a Beautiful Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Granted, I went as part of a large group that reserved one of the ballrooms, so our experience may have been part of cooking for the masses. The room was very nice, and the bartender was wonderful, as was our large crew of waitstaff. They deserved praise and did a fine job of attending.

The problem was the food. Our first course was an off-smelling tomato soup that had tiny vegetables and tiny "chef boyardee spaghetti-o" pasta. Four our main courses we all felt underwhelmed. We had choices of dual breast of chicken, with competing sauces on each (Madeira with shiitake and a Sherry cream mushroom) -the sauces were good but had to top dry and flavorless tiny chicken breast medallions; filet mignon (my favorite meat) which tasted charred and un-aged even though perfectly cooked inside, and was accompanied by an off-tasting bordelaise sauce. The salad course was delicious with the basil cream vinaigrette- that was actually my favorite part of the meal. The vegetables which accompanied the main course were okay but commanded no attention and were mostly flavorless. Our dessert course was a cheesecake mousse with a crumbled cookie 'base' in a martini glass which was underwhelming.

Again, my thanks to the very kind and attentive bar and table staff; if the food improves we will be back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine Il
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I eat here about 2 or 3 times a year. The food is a bit high priced but I do not mind paying for good food. Occasionally we'll get a great meal here and that makes it worthwhile. I see some complaints about the service but we ALWAYS find the service to be impeccable. The wait staff is knowledgeable and spot on. From our experiences i find it difficult to believe that anybody has trouble with the service (unless of course the diner may deserve it). I recommend Cafe La Cave as a romantic spot, a businees spot or just as a gathering place for a few friends. The staff are very accomodating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Definitely did not live up to the recommendations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Cafe la Cave has always enjoyed a very good reputation in the area and as result I've always wanted to eat there. But, it wasn't very good, it wasn't even good, it was poor. We ordered a very expensive entree in Chateaubriand. The meal started with bread and butter - and the butter had that funky taste when it has been in the refrigerator too long and absorbed the taste of other food items. Ick. Then the Chateaubriand came out. The meat was supposed to be "medium" and it was still that purple color (read raw) in the middle. And, the veggies had the funk taste that the butter had - they weren't even edible. So disappointing and so crazy expensive. Definitely didn't live up to the hype.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Cave also viewed

 

Been to Cafe La Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe La Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.