We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a good cut of steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
1470 East Touhy Avenue, Des Plaines, IL 60016
+1 847-391-9860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 148 restaurants in Des Plaines
Price range: $27 - $36
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A great place for a good cut of steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I took two customers here for dinner and all three of our steaks were not only done to our exact satisfaction, but were three perfect cuts of beef. You cannot go wrong stopping here if you are looking for a great meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    22
    36
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Went for lunch, left disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had some time to kill before my flight out of Chicago so I stopped by here for lunch. The staff were courteous and friendly. They accommodated my seating request at the bar.

I ordered the lunch bone-in pork chop with fries and mashed potato. The meal was delicious but the portion size was dismal. The pork chop was about 1/2 thin. This pork chop does not compare to those at Texas Road House. There, the pork chops are close to an inch thick.

When I asked the serving staff if that was a normal portion, they said it was. For dinner, they include two. I was surprised there was no offer to discount the meal to make up for my displeasure. It wasn't like I was candid about my disappointment.

I'll be skipping Longhorn in the future.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Ordered take out a few times was never disappointed

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but seasoned to within an inch of it's life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was my first time to a Longhorn Steakhouse and I admit I was disappointed. I ordered the steak and lobster and both were seasoned with a hot peppery seasoning to the point that my mouth hurt. They were wonderful about it and made me a new steak without seasoning but by that time the experience was pretty much ruined - my husband was almost through eating, I got to eat the extraneous bits of my meal while waiting for my steak and the lobster wasn't very good.

My husband, on the other hand, loved the seasoning and thoroughly enjoyed his meal.

My recommendation would be that if you have delicate taste buds, order your food without seasoning. Otherwise, the staff was wonderful and so was the dessert.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

They offer call ahead seating which gives you priority over walk ins. This is one of the reasons we go here. The wait staff is very freindly. Food is good and tasty. Sometimes the food comes too quickly after the salad arrives. Make sure to ask your server for time unless you are in a big hurry.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

Des Plaines, IL
Des Plaines, IL
 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.