We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge

Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Des Plaines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge
Save Saved
You added Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge to your Saves list
3003 Mannheim Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Dalton-in-Furness
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Faulty towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place was a pit. I've slept on the beach under a fishing shelter which felt cleaner than this place. There was a bed and mattress in the hallway, which when I walked past made me feel like vomiting due to the stench.
The bathroom was dirty and dilapidated and it took ages to run any semblance of tepid water.
I kept thinking either john Cleese or the guy from candid camera was going to appear.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Like a lot of travellers last week I was caught up in the horrendous weather in the USA. I was flying in to Chicago and then on to Canada. Unfortunately because of the severe weather my connecting flight was cancelled until the next day so had to look for accommodation for one night.
Like a fool I selected this flea pit as the name had a similar name to the chain of hotels in the uk - that was mistake number 1.
Mistake number 2 was not walking away at the door / reception, it looked tatty and under normal circumstances I would have. But again because of the number of cancellations accommodation was limited, so I convinced myself it was only for one night and it would be ok.
Mistake number 3 was not walking away having seen the state of the carpets in the hallway to the room.
Mistake number 4 was not walking away from the stench of damp and mold
Mistake number 5 was having a cold wash in the morning as there was no hot water available, and when complained about the lack of hot water was greeted by a shrug of the shoulders and "did you let it run"
Would I ever go back to this hotel under similar circumstances - NEVER, I would have sooner slept rough in a bus shelter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami - FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I arrived in Chicago O'hare at around 10:00 PM - final destination to be Champaign, IL. So I would still have to drive around 3 hours and a 1/2 to arrive. I was pretty tired of the stressfull plane ride so I decided to spend a night in Chicago, specifically around the airport, before heading to Champaign. I went to the rental car place and the person there indicated me this hotel as being a cost friendly hotel. I trusted his sugestion, but was EXTREMELY disappointed. Once I arrive, yes, the front desk lady was a very pleasant and helpfull person, but outside the hotel gave me a not pleasent feel. I would not recommend for a girl travelling alone. Well, entering the room, extremely dated, and did not have a very clean feel. I am not a smoker, so the smoke smell in the room also really bothered me. Bottom line: I did not feel safe in this hotel and found it to be not clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, WI
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

After having a horrible hotel experience in down town Chicago, I found the Travelodge to be a huge relief. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and welcoming. The sleep quality was great. They had a nice outdoor pool. And very modern restaurant/ bar area. and the complimentary breakfast was also good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge

Address: 3003 Mannheim Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Des Plaines
Number of rooms: 95

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago O'Hare Rosemont Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.