We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent/ basic stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 South Waukegan Road, Deerfield, IL 60015   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Deerfield
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent/ basic stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed one night. The room was clean, basic and older. The building was a little rough around the edges. Good price. The personnel at check in and check out were pleasant.No complaints....it served its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    12
    12
    4
See reviews for
8
7
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
any town usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Franchise; privately owned since 2011

Spacious lobby with flat screen TV, but checked in guests asked to leave no (loitering) no chatting up the staff. Security cameras installed beyond entrances points more like a department store.

Pet friendly but at what cost;
One woman, a breeder passing through stays with 10 + puppies in her room and takes over the sidewalk and grass in front of her room with fencing, no special rooms for pet guests, so no extra cleaning of those rooms at checkout. Elevator carpeting old and smells of Uren, dog poop all over grass and open space surrounding parking lot and walk area to mall no rule in place to pick up your dogs waste.

Free internet;
Wi-Fi, must log in but kicked off every 8 hours, no bandwidth for streaming, you tube and online games ect.

Phone;
Guest phone calls are not put through due to security and no messages are relayed that someone has called.

Hot Water;
They cannot seem to decide want the right temperature is for the shower so right knows it is set at scalding.

Garbage;
Wind yes but debris all over the parking lot, grass ect., garbage left at cans buy elevator door that sits there all day.

Parking lot hogs;
Two monthly guests have taken over the parking lot one has a car and 2 pickup trucks the other with 3 compact cars, there are no spaces for trucks with an average truck taking up 4 car spaces, and a van with trailer 5. In addition, there are 3 abandoned cars in the parking lot 2 with 4 flat tires each one with no tags and a tag of 2008.

"AWFUL-Unsafe"
Yes, more than one suicide committed here, last 2012

“Not My Favorite”
Yes, only enough towels and sheets for one changeover a lot with holes no extras pillows, bedspreads, shower curtains ect. Red roof channel lineup DirecTV by Lodge Net, mole not mouse, no lobby checkout sign or law card on door.

“A+ Staff in D+ Facility”
Yes part time maintenance man, upper floor railing rusting out and pulling away from the building, headboard to wide for room, bath mats 18" x 22". Non-smoking rooms if any rented by smokers who smoke in front of their door.

“Great Staff but Older Building”
Yes no security for windows

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Problems, problems, problems. I had enough to fill an Everly Brothers song. The staff of the Red Roof were quick to jump to the rescue, however. Anyone who stays here should consider the staff first and the facilities a distant second.

To begin with, the building needs some serious renovation. The first room I was in (I ended up in three rooms in about a 24-hour span, if that tells you anything) had no thermostat control button on the heater. That wasn't good, considering the unseasonably cold weather Chicago was experiencing during my trip. (The remote didn't work, either, but manually turning a TV on and off is secondary to working heat when it's so cold outside that a baseball game had to be postponed.) Since there was no maintenance man on duty I was moved to a new room. While this one did have a working thermostat the cosmetic appearance of the room wasn't much of an improvement.

Cosmetics are sorely lacking at the hotel. The exterior shows significant rusting along the metal frames. For all the room upgrading Red Roof has boasted about over the past year or so they seem to be forgetting to make the outside of the rooms look presentable as well. Both of the first two rooms I was in had issues with paint and plaster peeling (and in the second room someone had apparently put a piece of trash in the overhead heating duct just to see how long it would be before the cleaning staff would notice. Whoever did it, you can rest assured they haven't found it yet.). The "king" rooms were cramped, almost to the point of being claustrophobic. The room size would have been much better with a single queen bed than trying to put a king bed in the smaller space. The towels are another serious issue. The "bath mat" is barely big enough to stand on, and its small size (about the same size as two washcloths) might pose more safety problems than it solves.

Something that really concerns me is the problem that came up during the second day of my stay. I began to notice cigarette smoke filtering into my room from another room. Whether it was seeping through the walls or finding its way through the vents from another room is something I couldn't tell. I could only tell that my non-smoking room began to smell as if someone were lighting up in it, which isn't good for someone with a severe allergy to cigarette smoke. Again, the front desk was right on top of things and moved me to another room -- this one a deluxe king that had none of the cosmetic or ventilation problems of the previous rooms.

The staff at this facility simply cannot be beat. They are alert and quick to respond to a problem (and I certainly had enough to do me for a year's worth of traveling during the two days I was there). Such a courteous and attentive staff deserves a better facility.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have stayed at this inn for many years when here on business.always have had excellent service by all members of staff.room has always been clean and everything in working order or repaired as soon as I notified them.ample parking for auto,s but limited parking for semi.best if noise of highway traffic bothers you to get room on back side of building.overall I would rate this inn as an excellent choice.also price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Shopping center attached to inn for any food and supplies needed.restaurants very close by.best deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location, easily accessible from the expressway. Very clean, comfortable beds, quiet location. Plenty of parking right in front of the room. Front desk attendant was very friendly and helpful. Check in and out was very fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is my second stay here. This time we sprung for a delux king room which cost about $10 more per day. The extra money is worth it for a king side bed and larger room. Only complaint I have is a very noisy fan in the bathroom. The decor otherwise is standard Red Roof not fancy but functional.

Property was clean staff very helpful. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although I may be used to staying at Marriot Hotels my fiancé and I needed a cheap getaway for the weekend. Sadly I was not pleased. The room had a musty scent and they were very stingy with pillows and towels. When asking the front desk for an extra pillow they told us they didn't have any extras. Ok. The TV has very limited channels. It's an outdated TV as well so it's not possible to hook up a PS3 or anything. What really put the icing on the cake was the MOUSE we spotted in our room on the 2nd night! A disgusting mouse was running around where we slept. I was disgusted. We called the front desk to ask if we could switch rooms and requested he bring the key to us for the new room however he made us go get it because he said he couldn't leave the lobby. K. So we had to lug all our belongings to a new room at 12:00am with no help. Also, our room key had us locked out when returning back from the mall on the 2nd day. The guy said they only programmed it for one night. Thanks. Lastly, the inside of the room says check out time is 12:00pm. This morning I get a knock on the door at 11:15am basically telling us to get out because check out was at 11:00am. My finance said the door says 12:00pm! Ad he said it was changed to 11:00am... Well no one ever notified us of this! So we rushed out and left! Not happy with this hotel. Although the beds were okay the rest was a bust. Move along... Much nicer choices for a few bucks more!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield

Address: 340 South Waukegan Road, Deerfield, IL 60015
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Chicago's beautiful North Shore, this recently renovated property features free wireless internet, gourmet coffee, guest laundry, restaurants and fitness centers within walking distance, and convenient access to public transportation to downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Red Roof Inn Northbrook
Northbrook Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Chicago - Northbrook / Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.