We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place, a bit isolated, service fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield to your Saves list
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice enough place, a bit isolated, service fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Mariott Suites in Deerfield twice for business, for three nights each, in October 2012. What I found was a lovely and clean hotel, with nice comforters on the beds and spacious bathrooms. I liked the place, but find now that I prefer the Embassy Suites nearby for reasons that are difficult to articulate. It just seems more "homey." Also, this hotel is a bit isolated and out of the way. My company is located less than 2 miles away, but when I tell people there about this hotel, they've never heard of it.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if my other choices were unavailable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
38
31
13
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel itself is in a bit of a deserted location - I was glad I took a cab from the airport rather than renting a car. Front staff was courteous and helpful, and when I got to my room I was very impressed. Tons of room to spread out, and while not luxurious, certainly very comfortable looking. And very quiet. The downsides: there were only 2 towels in the bathroom (fine for one person, but probably not for a couple). The room service was not great - cold mushy oatmeal with a brown mushy banana on the side. However, the flaw that definitely stood out the most for me was that one of the pillowcases and the fitted sheet both had noticeable black grimy marks on them. Yuck. If housekeeping and room service (food quality) could be improved, the room would make it worthwhile.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Working on a project with a local client so location is not an issue. What was a little strange is the mix of standards / facilities compared to a normal full Marriott. The rooms are large as the suite name indicates and other reviewers comment. The gym is weird with 3 treadmills on poolside and a mini room with a treadmill and elliptical inside the room - hardly enough room to swing a towel in there and the equipment is jammed in. The breakfast was great with a chef cooking omelettes / eggs on Thursday - not sure if this is a regular for this usual big day of departure - and I was surprised to see outside the full Marriott.
Staff friendly and helpful and rooms clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms are all suites and are plenty big. There is a fridge, sink and microwave in the rooms. There is a bedroom with a door you can close off and a seperate living area. Small 37" flatscreens in each. The decore is very dated.

I have stayed here probably 7-8 nights per year for the last 10 years and my two biggest complaints are the bar and the gym.

The bartender has been around forever and his attitude needs work. My colleagues and I usually show up in a roup to spend a bunch of money and have fun and he seems put-out by having to serve us.

The fitness center is comical. It's about 500 square feet with about 6 machines, a pully system and some free weights crammed in. Two of the machines were out of order. There is no floor space to work out with the wiehts and move around. Please get with the times and upgrade your fitness area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Service by front desk, breakfast crew, and housekeeping were excellent. Room was spacious and clean. So was the bathroom. Bed was comfortable. Slept well. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've been staying here for the past few months on a weekly basis and am very please with their accommodations. The bedding is excellent and the rooms (actuallly suites) are very clean. I've had room service a few times and has arrived quickly and was still warm. The breakfast (included in my corporate rate) is excellent - and includes everything from fresh fruit to an omelette station. I book this hotel whenever possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent two days here to visit a close by customer. I found the place to be clean and comfortable. The bar (Basil's Bistro) was a great atmosphere - very open and comfortable for a large crowd. The bar staff was a bit overwhelmed but the food and drink were great. The staff who checked me into the hotel was accocmodating, although my room was not yet ready. The room itself was clean and large. The bed was extremely comfortable. Will definitely return when visiting the same customer in the future.

Room Tip: The doors were a bit less than sound proof, so staying away from the elevator may reduce the overall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield

Address: Two Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Deerfield Marriott
Marriott Deerfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.