We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Deerfield

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Deerfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Deerfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Deerfield
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed here once and I'd do it again. I was very pleased with the speed of check-in. The service was delightful and it felt bigger than it was. I came here to meet some folks in the lobby for a beverage after work and returned as a hotel guest. I was very pleased with the value I received. I've recommended it to family. Free parking, great food - what else to ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Traci W-

We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and can't wait to have you stay with us again in the future! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!!!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    21
    16
    8
See reviews for
54
20
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I found the Hyatt Deerfield to be a wonderful place to stay. Upon check-in the staff were extremely cordial. They thanked me for being a Gold Passport member and assured me that this stay would certainly earn me points and offered extra help with my luggage. The check-in was fast and very efficient.

The room I had was on a floor that was in the process of undergoing the renovations many of the other reviewers have mentioned so there was the ususal "excues our dust" signs." Even still, I never heard a peep out of the rennovators and it really didn't distract from my stay at all.

The room itself was very nice. It was set up basically as a mini suite. The decor in the room was simple and elegant, nice clean layout, and the bed very comfortable. I appreciated the swivel television that swung between the sleeping area and living room area. Ample closet space was available. The only issue I would take with the room was the chair in the living room...it looked a bit old and worn down.

I stayed for three days and everyday the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job of keeping everything refreshed and tidy.

The location was great for me. The hotel is tucked away in the outer Chicago Suburbs however there was convienient access to the downtown area via the Metra just a few blocks right down the road. Metra is very inexpensive so I saved bucket loads staying out of the downtown and sinply using the Metra.

The hotel sits in a Corporate area in a very nice neigbhorhood. I always felt very safe and secure.

All in all an outstanding stay and I'll definitely stay here again if returning to the area. Well done Hyatt!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
skating102-

Thank you for the great feedback... we appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience as well as your business!

You'll be happy to hear that our renovation concluded this past April and the hotel looks great! We hope you come see us again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We expected a lot more. After a long, tiring drive, we had difficulty locating the registration desk in the huge, multi-use lobby. Staff were friendly & helpful, but didn't even glance up upon our return one evening: no greeting (that we can live with) but also poor security! Our king room, while nicely decorated, lacked any end or coffee tables - we used our luggage. Tiny bathroom. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing away from expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your
recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your
expectations.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is
clean and spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can
be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not
disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a
guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay
with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was pleased with my recent 3 night stay at the Hyatt Deerfield. It was down the road from my corporate headquarters and very convenient. Apparently, according a friend who met me there one night, it recently was renovated and looks much better than it used to. My room was comfortable and quiet. I did a run through the nearby neighborhoods one morning which was nice - sidewalks abound right behind the hotel despite it being in a coporate headquater mecca. My only suggestion is that they add hard boiled eggs to the breakfast bar - which are faster and easier than ordering and waiting for them to be cooked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
SunSeekerMA-

I'm glad youe enjoyed the hotel and hope to see you again soon, when your travels bring you back to the area!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our first stay at the Hyatt Deerfield. Upon arrival we had to make a few trips up and down as our room keys weren't right. We had two rooms suited (traveling with family) and only one of the keys worked. The layout of the room was as expected and the 8 person conference table was nice. The cleanliness of the room left a bit to be desired - namely the gross white stains on the chairs... We literally put towels down to sit on. As we had arrived late we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant downstairs. We were one of only 3 tables however there was a large reunion (?) going on in the lobby. We verified as we were seated that it was OK to eat in the ajoining restaurant and our hostess claimed it was. The service was really lacking, we assume based on the reunion. We were all but forgotten about and the noise level wasn't pleasant for dining. The intoxicated reunion goers provided good entertainment though... The food, once it arrived, was actually quite good it just was overshadowed by both the lack of service and the noise. We probably wouldn't stay here again but it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
crazy4pack-


I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean and spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fabulous, attentive staff at this hotel. Each employee I dealt with was polite and caring from check in to my van driver. The food was fine but the service was outstanding! I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
annghoffman-

It was a please chatting with you the other day via email!!! Thank you again for the positive feedback! We hope to see you again soon...

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hyatt Deerfield

The Hyatt Deerfield is located conveniently close to the O’Hare (ORD) Airport, a number of international businesses and Underwriter Laboratories Test Facility.

If you are looking for a conveniently located hotel to get a good night sleep, than this is a good choice….if, however, you are looking to experience the hustle of the Chicago Nightlife, then stay Downtown!!

The Hotel has a smart Foyer, where, apart from the Reception desk, you can also find a Bar and a Restaurant.

The Check-In was quick and painlessly executed by friendly staff and all important facilities, like Gym and Business Centre, of the hotel where pointed out.

The Room allocated to me was located on the fourth floor and comprised a Living Area with a large Sofa and a comfortable chair. The Large TV was mounted on a swiffel stand, so you could choose to sit in the living room are or lie in your bed to watch it.

The Bed room area contained in this case a large King size bed and the Bathroom a Shower/Bath combination.

The Rate I did choose included WiFi throughout the Hotel and Breakfast, so I was not charged separate for this, but I understand that the Base rate does NOT include Wifi and Breakfast.

All in all was the room tastefully decorated and, whilst a Minibar was missing, a small fridge to keep your purchased drinks cool was provided.

The Bar was staffed with professional and very friendly staff and the restaurant provided much better than expected fare at reasonable prices.

All in all, this Hotel is ideally suited for the business traveler and offers value for money.

I will be staying there again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Deerfield, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
ikke55473-

I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel- thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Deerfield

Also Known As:
Hyatt Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Hyatt Deerfield Hotel
Deerfield Hyatt
Address: 1750 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Deerfield 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel. Newly Renovated Suite sized guest rooms to include 6 Executive Suites, 1 Presidential Suite, and 1 Hospitality Suite. Amenities to include: living room area with pull out couch, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, referigerators in room, turn down services available, business class floor, newly renovated restaurant and meeting space. A premier suburban corporate hotel located in the heart of Chicago's Northshore. The Hyatt Deerfield is ideally located just 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport and minutes from Fortune-500 companies such as, Abbott Pharmaceuticals, Kraft Foods, Baxter Healthcare, and Morgan Stanley Discover. Enjoy an evening at Ravinia Festival, a day at Chicago's Botanic Gardens, or the excitement of Six Flags Great America, all in close proximity. The Hyatt Deerfield offers cigars at our outdoor patio, newly renovated restaurant, atrium lounge, in-room dining, and a full fitness facility including indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and full line of cardiovascular equipment. Located off 294/94 express way 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.