We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Improvement!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield to your Saves list
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1445 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Valparaiso, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Huge Improvement!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After our last stay, one year ago, my wife sent an itemized list of complaints to management...but what a difference a year makes. Everything has been improved, from the functionality and esthetics of the complimentary-breakfast area to the appearance of the rooms to the quietness of the nighttime to the attitude of the staff. Air conditioning is thermostatically controlled, shades are heavy to shut out light, and my insomniac spouse had her best sleep in weeks.At the good and plentiful hot breakfast (made to order omelettes for those willing to stand in line), staff scurried about to keep used tables clean and welcoming for the next guests. New pool rules have been put in place, and apparently are enforced. The former noise and rowdiness in common areas has vanished. Kudos to Embassy Suites Deerfield, which is handy to the Illinois Tollway and has driven itself to a higher plateau of performance.

Room Tip: Can't beat the 7th floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    125
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
166
57
11
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been staying here for over 15 years when I travel to company HQ. There are three suite hotels in the area, and I have stayed at all three. I prefer the Embassy suites because the rooms are larger and because of the free morning breakfasts daily and evening cocktail receptions during the week. I am always recognized as a returning guest and my preferences for room location, etc. are always followed to a T. They recently expanded and upgraded their breakfast area and I am very pleased with the results.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side can pick up some of the road noise from the nearby interstate. Those on the...
See more room tips
Green Features: They change sheets every three days, which is just fine with me.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I admit that Embassy Suites hotels are my favorite hotel brand, but this one has consistently exceeded my expectations over the past 15 years that I have been traveling to this area. Yes, it is convenient to my company HQ, but there are other suite hotels close by to choose from and I have tried them all. This is the best in the area. Their new breakfast area completed this Spring is especially nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

As advertised, spacious room, complimentary breakfast, overall great stay. I've always enjoyed Embassy Suites, and this hotel did not disappoint. I would recommend this hotel, and will stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Moving from one home to anoter, we sought a comfoortable and convenient hotel for three nights. Essentially, expected to just "crash" after tiring days. We knew of the hotel and decided to try it -- speciousness was key factor, but complimentary food and beverage were also considerations. There were certainly cheaper (and pricer) options in the area, but this was an overall satisfying experience. The on-site bar and restaurant were surprisingly better than expected. The staff throughout was pleasant and helpful. Oh, yest, the Speakman shower head did make a difference after we returned to the room weary, hot and dusty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had a room with terrible smell..smoke or something and they didn't resolve until 2 days later..offered nothing to compensate. We tried to work with the staff and management but they were unresponsive. I don't understand how a company so focused on service can let something like this happen. When I checked out they asked if everything was okay and I again told them the story and again they offered nothing to compensate me for the poor experience. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Andrew B,

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel. We very much appreciate your business.

Please accept my apologies for the concerns that you have raised in your review. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience. I assure that this is very rare to happen and I can certainly empathize with your frustration and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you went through.

Your business is very important to us and I sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity and consider returning again. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me. We are always listening to our guests!

Sincerely,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business travel and I would recommend this hotel to my co-workers. The rooms were very clean, the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet (included in your stay) was both satisfying and well-stocked. If I travel to this area again for work, I'll be back to stay here.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the less noise you get in the evenings from the bar that's in the center...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very happy to see the practices! I would like to hear more about your recycling and/or composting efforts as well.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield

Address: 1445 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the newly renovated full-service all-suite hotel located 14 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. Embassy Suites Chicago - North Shore/Deerfield is situated in an excellent location for easy access to several Fortune 500 headquarters, Chicago attractions, world-class shopping and a diverse array of restaurants. Relax in your spacious two-room suite and enjoy a range of home-like amenities such as two flat-screen TVs, a wet bar area with a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Accessible rooms are available.Start your day with a free cooked-to-order breakfast, and savor complimentary beverages and snacks at the Evening Reception*. If you’re busy, Room Service is available from Cadwell's Grille. Take advantage of the hotel’s BusinessLink™ Business Center and express mail service. Hold a meeting or conference in one of the five event venues, and enjoy the range of business amenities and services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Embassy Suites Deerfield
Deerfield Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.