We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated Embassy Suites w/ easy access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield to your Saves list
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1445 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated Embassy Suites w/ easy access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rooms have been renovated with new furnishings, dark wood accents, and lots of electric outlets for all the devices travelers carry. The bathrooms even got an update. Even the atrium railings sported an updated glass look. The central courtyard was still under construction, but the faux ponds and streams were gone. The breakfast was the standard Embassy fare. I hope they complete the baths by adding a night light and putting ADA approved height low flush toilets. I'd go back if I was in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CC_FL_Road_Warrior,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and my hope is that you will visit again in the future.

We are completing some upgrades to our rooms and I hope you will like the changes upon your return.

Warm regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    111
    51
    12
    5
See reviews for
143
54
10
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

During a remodeling when the atrium was covered in a giant tarp. After checking in late at night, my thermostat was stuck at 84 degrees - so I turned it off. And it became really, really, really cold the next morning.

A pet peeve for any hotel chain that chooses to only feature Pepsi - grr! The good ones have some of both.

Will probably be just fine when remodeling is done, but why sell rooms if you're in a state of disrepair?

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Latte4me,

Thank you for staying with us and I sincerely appreciate the feedback regarding your visit. I do apologize for the renovation and construction that you encountered and I am disappointed that it adversely affected your visit.

My hope is that you will return and I offer my personal assistance for reservations in the future. We will be finished with the renovation by mid-March and the new look has really transformed the property.

Please let me know if there is anything that I may assist with either now or in the future.

Sincerely,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I’ve stayed here a couple of times when visiting the Deerfield area, although not since they apparently have done some renovations. Perhaps those will improve the ambiance. I found the atrium, with all rooms opening onto the central space, noisy and a bit run-down. On the other hand, the rooms are comfortable and quiet, with the separate living room buffering noise from the atrium itself. Staff were helpful and friendly. Convenient location if you are in that part of the North Shore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Il
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is undergoing a major remodeling which I'm sure will make this hotel even better. The breakfast and managers reception was nice. The room was very nice, but certainly will benefit with new furniture. What I didn't appreciate is being charged for wi-fi. Why is it the lower price motels give away wi-fi for nothing, bit the moe expensive ones, charge for it. I just don't understand the logic. I would certainly think twice about this if I choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Scubaden,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit to the Embassy Suites Chicago North Shore\Deerfield.

We are very excited about the positive changes with the renovation and we will be finished by the middle part of March 2013. We are also considering our WiFi service. We have invested a significant amount of capital to upgrade our system to keep up with the significant increase in demand due to guests have multiple devices as well as streaming media.

My hope is that you will return and please let me know if I may assist in any way.

Best regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Except for the lack of complimentary wifi, it was perfect. It's good that the hotel has the wifi ability, but I believe it should be part of the room charge. The service, room, breakfast could not in any way be improved upon. Except for noticing the work and the workers, you were not aware in any way that there was still renovation in progress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rsegal88,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Embassy Suites. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

My hope is that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

All the best,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was worried about staying at property that had an anticipated renovation completion date the day before we arrived. . .yes, the first-floor restrooms were not ready, but the staff made me quickly forget any blips.

Embassy/Homewood Suites is my go-to, first destination choice--business or pleasure. So much more for the $$$.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Gulffan_12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit. I am so glad to hear that the team provided excellent service and that you enjoyed your stay.

My hope is that you will visit again in the near future to see the finished product. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I travel regularly to the Riverwoods/Deerfield area on business and have stayed at three different hotels in the area, looking to find my favorite, so far, this one is it. I've stayed at the Embassy Suites North Shore three times now, each time for three nights, and I have to say that it fits the bill perfectly for me.

The good:
* Each and every employee that I've encountered has been friendly and helpful. In particular, the shuttle drivers (morning and evening) have been wonderful: friendly and kind. I've relied on these gentlemen to drive me to my office and pick me up, and they've generally been very reliable. They've even given me tips to pick up a quick dinner and have offered recommendations (good ones!) as well. They are doing a great job for Embassy Suites. There is also a lovely woman at the front desk in the mornings who has been very friendly and helpful as well.
* I usually ask for an extra early check in so I can head here straight from the airport and freshen up before heading to the office, and they have always been able to accommodate me, which I appreciate.
* I love the "old style" Embassy Suites layout, with the "river" and koi fish rambling through the center. I'm sad that they are renovating to change this, but I understand that some things have to change! I'm looking forward to my next visit later this month, when I can see the results of the renovation!
* The layout of the suites is good -- I can work at the desk and watch the TV at the same time (I try to fit in work in the evenings). Wireless Internet has been good and reliable as well.
* The pool and hot tub look inviting and I always bring my suit, but I'm also always too busy to swim!
* Beds are comfortable -- I do get a good night's sleep here.
* Breakfast is okay -- I usually get an omelet a couple of times during my stay. Definitely better than the Holiday Inn Express down the street.
* Managers Reception--I'm not a big drinker, but I've stopped by this a couple of times. Once they were testing out potential new signature drinks for the new renovated bar/restaurant. That was fun! I hope my choice won!
* I've eaten at the restaurant twice. It was acceptable for a hotel restaurant, if a bit pricey (then again, I did order steak).
* The room service was serviceable--the food arrived relatively quickly and was hot. Again, it was pricey, but what room service isn't pricey?

Areas that could be improved:
* The breakfast could be better -- in particular I find the "liquid eggs" mixture that they use for the omelets a bit off-putting, and they use quite a bit of oil! A change to "real" eggs would definitely be more appetizing.

I'm a definite fan of this Embassy Suites and I look forward to my next visit (in a couple of weeks) when I can see how the renovation has come along.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sarahste,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent visits to the hotel. It was good to hear that the team has delivered warm and friendly service. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the signature cocktail contest and I hope your suggested drink was selected as the winner!

We are very excited about the changes with the renovation and I'm excited to have you come back to see the progress.

All the best,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield

Address: 1445 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the newly renovated full-service all-suite hotel located 14 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. Embassy Suites Chicago - North Shore/Deerfield is situated in an excellent location for easy access to several Fortune 500 headquarters, Chicago attractions, world-class shopping and a diverse array of restaurants. Relax in your spacious two-room suite and enjoy a range of home-like amenities such as two flat-screen TVs, a wet bar area with a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Accessible rooms are available.Start your day with a free cooked-to-order breakfast, and savor complimentary beverages and snacks at the Evening Reception*. If you’re busy, Room Service is available from Cadwell's Grille. Take advantage of the hotel’s BusinessLink™ Business Center and express mail service. Hold a meeting or conference in one of the five event venues, and enjoy the range of business amenities and services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Embassy Suites Deerfield
Deerfield Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.