We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Was booked at the courtyard down the street, but the room was damaged by a prior guest. They didn't have a substitute so moved us down the street and paid for our first night there to compensate for the inconvenience. Staff in both places was nothing but helpful. Room was very clean. Bed was comfortable.

We came to visit Northwestern which was about a 30 minute drive. Overall a great visit!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Can't remember the last time I stayed in a multi-level hotel without an elevator. Maybe it was in the 80's at a Motel 6. At check in the staff was pleasant, showed me where my room was located but made no mention of the "stairs-only" setup. I've stayed at many Courtyards with a center courtyard surrounded by he rooms like this one. Most have elevator(s) about halfway down the hallways. Expecting this, I walked about 150ft down and back before heading back to the front desk where the woman working the desk said, "We don't have an elevator. Would you like us to get someone to help you with your bags sweetie?" Sweetie? Feeling about 85 years old, I mumbled to myself, picked up my false teeth off the floor, grabbed by cane, and shuffled off to the stairs.

They had a note somewhere about the $1mm renovation just completed on the bistro and lobby. It looks nice and the staff is pleasant. Best thing about this hotel though is the proximity to Walgreens HQ if that's important to you (less than a mile) and the cheap price.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
rxman502001,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Deerfield Marriott Couryard. I appreciate your kind feedback of the staff and the proximity to Walgreens. The Deerfield Marriott Courtyard has just been honored with Platinum status for one of the top 4 healthiest hotels in the system, so thank you for mentioning that it is a great place to stay if you want to get in shape! . Please let me know when you will be staying with us again. Also, I will use your feedback for future training with my associates.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Respectfully,
Mary Metcalf
General Manager
Marriott Courtyard - Deerfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deerfield hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Very happy with the hotel from great staff attitude through to good breakfast options, fast free wifi and a nicely laid out hotel. Quiet enough for a light sleeper it was a good call for early morning meetings nearby. Would recommend and will use again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
SteveMXP,
Thank you for your positive review on the hotel's staff, breakfast and fast WiFi! I'm so glad that you found everything necessary to make your stay with us a good one and that the you found the hotel to be nice and quiet, even for a light sleeper such as yourself.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Mary Metcalf
General Manager
Deerfield Marriott Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My wife, daughter and I were staying for 9 days, but my daughter and I had to leave after 5. After my daughter and I left, the front desk checked my wife out of the hotel even though we repeatedly told them she was staying. They wouldn't even admit they made an error.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
David H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Deerfield. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will keep your suggestions in mind as we look for ways to better serve our guests. Please accept my apologies for any frustrations that were experienced.
Respectfully,
Mary Metcalf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Clean and silence room. Very kind and helpful staff. Shuttle service is very useful and nice. Very closed to train station.

Breakfast types are very simple. No more restaurant alternatives around hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
KARATASIstanbul,
Thank you for taking the time to add your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, the helpful staff and I'm thrilled that you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service and the close location to the train station.
We hope you are able to come back and enjoy our classic business hotel.
Thanks again,
Mary Metcalf
General Manager
Deerfield Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The hotel is clean, rooms are comfortable and the services are good. There is no onsite restaurant but a small deli where they serve small sandwiches. The breakfast are microwaved. If you want to stay in for dinner, you have to get take out or delivery.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
WillKu2014,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding our hotel cleanliness, comfortable rooms, and great service. I'm sorry that you were not aware that we have a full service restaurant that is open for breakfast and for dinner, complete with a full service bar. I hope that next time you stay with us you will have the opportunity to enjoy all the full service restaurant amenities that our Bistro offers.
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will be our guest again in the new future.
Sincerely,
Mary Metcalf
General Manager
Deerfield Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I was very impressed with the service at this Marriott Courtyard. I have stayed at many Marriotts, but the service and accommodation at this hotel was outstanding. Staff made guests feel comfortable and were very attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Callie C,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review about the outstanding service and accommodations while you were a guest at the Deerfield Courtyard by Marriott. We value your business and are thrilled that our staff made you feel comfortable.
Thank you and we look forward to your return to our hotel in the future.
Sincerely,
Mary Metcalf
General Manager
Deerfield Marriott Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield

Address: 800 Lake Cook Road, Deerfield, IL 60015
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Courtyard Deerfield
Deerfield Courtyard
Deerfield Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.