We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-Of-Kind Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooker's Fast Foods INC

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cooker's Fast Foods INC
84 S Waukegan Rd, Deerfield, IL 60015-5216
(847) 272-7222
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 55 Restaurants in Deerfield
Restaurant details
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“One-Of-Kind Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I gave Cookers Red Hots a try for the first time about a year ago. Their "official name" is misleading. Cookers is way more than a "hot dog place." Since that first visit, we've been back a number of times for take-out orders.

This place is a throw-back to a time when neighborhood diners/take-out joints were THE PLACE to go for fast food: fresh ingredients; made-to-order; nice menu; daily specials; fair prices, great service, and; pride in ownership/operation. Note: if you're on a diet or counting your calories, Cookers may not be for you. That said . . .

Some things that we've tried that are ALL very good: The Gyro Sandwich; Ribeye Sandwich; Onion Rings; Greek Salad and Asian Salad. Also: the fresh-cut french fries that come with the sandwiches - excellent. (Warning: once again, NOT for those of you who are counting calories.)

Now, if you made Cookers a daily habit and are over 40, you would probably pack on the pounds and be a good candidate for a grabber. (But isn't that the case with most of the chain fast food places?)

On the other hand, if you have a craving - on occasion - for some really good, well-prepared fast food, chances are that you will agree with me: Cookers is a one-of-a-kind delicious place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great casual food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

superb place for lunch or a casual dinner. Their Italian sausage sandwich is as good or better that the best I have gotten at the NEW YORK STATE FAIR. Their french fries are fresh-cut and are the best ever. Everything here is delicious. A great place to blow your diet!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Gyros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very casual. Order and pick up at the counter. Primarily sandwiches, from hot dogs to gyros. Their gyros on pita is among the best with plenty to eat. In fact buy an extra pita and take half the meat home for another meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Set your expectations and you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

So I can get a delicious char-grilled hot dog with all the fixins and a handful of fries for about $4.00? I call it a good deal. Tasty dogs, fresh condiments and the staff has been found to be quite courteous. I've eaten there on busy weekdays and slow weekends and it's reliably the same.
I can't say anything about the salads, burgers or gyros (other than they know how to pronounce gyro) because I've been hooked on their delicious chardogs with onion, mustard, pickle, relish and tomato. Also, the fries are good - not the thin limp fast food style but a skin-on, crispy version fried in an oil (peanut?) that makes them taste just fine. I'd recommend it if you're in the mood for a simple classic.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Just walk in a see. I was thete a month ago and was a ripoff especially the, free, fries. Food is good, staff not nice. Your just a number.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooker's Fast Foods INC also viewed

Deerfield, Lake County
Deerfield, Lake County
 
Deerfield, Lake County
Deerfield, Lake County
 

Been to Cooker's Fast Foods INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooker's Fast Foods INC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.