We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Decatur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Limited Decatur to your Saves list
Ramada Limited Decatur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 East Hickory Point Road, I-72 Exit 141B, Decatur, IL 62526   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Decatur
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I recommend this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've stayed in many Ramada's over the last few months and I found this to be one of the best ones. The room was ready for us to check in as soon as we arrived. Although our room was smoking (because the non-smoking rooms were booked), there was no lingering odor or film that I've found in other hotels. If it were not for the ashtray's we probably would not have even known that it was a smoking room. I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful. We were traveling with a sports team of teenagers and the staff (Dawn in particular) were helpful in locating activities for the group as well as assisting with laundry for the whole team. If we go back to Decatur, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    38
    25
    16
See reviews for
66
16
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayedd here on a Tuesday night when we drove later than expected, so it was late when we looked for a place to stay. While the bed was confortable and the sheets were clean, overall, this is a run-down, tired hotel desperately in need of remodeling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed there while attending a softball tournament. Found the hotel clean and the staff very accommodating. It was very quiet and conveniently located near the Hickory Point Mall and many good restaurants. The girls had a good time in the pool and parents felt free letting the girls socialize. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was bitten up by fleas. Not clean wallpaper falling off.

Room Tip: dog friendly but not treated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We rarely travel to small towns and stayed in Decatur due to a concert in the nearby town. Knowing that it is a 2-star hotel, we did not set our expectation high. However, the hotel projects a run-down feeling with its covered "cashier window (those small windows that greets late-night visitors) and dimly lit lobby. The frontdesk was to the best indifferent. Most of all, the corner of bathroom ceiling was covered by black mold (Rm #222 to be exactly if the owner wishes to fix it.) We certainly would not recommend. (We got it through Priceline so at least we did not pay much for it.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here two nights while in Decatur for a class reunion. I found the hotel to be quite clean and extremely quiet. The room had a large size dorm refrigerator with a small freezer unit which we used to refriegerate a case of sodas for a picnic the next day. The sinks are outside of the bathroom, which I consider a plus when traveling with others. Beds were comfortable with plenty of comfortable pillows as well. I found the breakfast buffet to be quite adequate with a nice selection of cereals, breads and a hot waffle maker. Coffee, milk and two types of juice available. I would definitely recommend staying here to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I had to travel to Decatur and needed an over night stay, unfortunately we only had two nights notice. I called around all the hotels, scoured the internet and could not find any other rooms available only at this hotel. This is not the hotel I would have chosen had I any other option, but sometimes needs must... On arrival the hotel looked recently painted from the outside and I really thought things were going to be good! The moment you push open that door to reception a horrid smell just hits you. To this day I am not even sure what it was, may be something to do with the small swimming pool just off reception, all I can tell you was it was not a clean and pleasing smell! Reception staff were average, nothing over friendly and welcome but then not rude either. The whole decor of the hotel just felt so unkept and in dire need of a face lift. The small bedroom was exactly the same, the decor was like something out of the 80's. The rooms just felt dark, unkept and had a musty smell. The bed was so uncomfortable and we had to try and sleep without the use of the noisy air conditioning. Breakfast the next day was taken in a similar decorated room, felt like a cheap canteen. This really has to have been the worst hotel breakfast ever. No hot selection, just do-nuts, Bread, Muffins, cereals and yogurt. I settled for a yogurt until I realized it was 1 week past its sell by date! The positives were free internet, free parking and plenty of chain restaurants and shops near to the hotel. I will certainly not stay at this hotel again, and given that this is my first stay at a Ramada can honestly say I am in rush to try out another of their hotels! It now explains why every other hotel was booked and this had 11 empty rooms available...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Limited Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Decatur

Address: 355 East Hickory Point Road, I-72 Exit 141B, Decatur, IL 62526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Limited Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Decatur Hotel Decatur
Ramada Decatur
Decatur Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Decatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.