We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broadcast Convention ROCKED!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Decatur Conference Center and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Decatur Conference Center and Hotel to your Saves list
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4191 US 36 West (Wyckles Rd.), Decatur, IL 62522 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Decatur
Danville, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Broadcast Convention ROCKED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The International Broadcasters Idea Bank held their annual convention in Decatur Illinois. Three member station ownership groups are all in the area so it was only a natural to come to central Illinois. The DCCH was outstanding! The remodeled rooms were great, the convention areas were super and the staff was excellent. Meals, bar, facilities and staff all get five-stars after our event.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    22
    26
    27
See reviews for
30
13
4
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean, although outdated, especially the bathroom. They are in the middle of renovating, though. The staff was extremely polite and helpful in all areas. Enjoyed the really nice sports bar. Good breakfast buffet. Nice location. Pool is large and clean. Would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location is adjacent to a lovely pond, within 10 minutes of Millikin University.
It is clean, well - maintained, provide free wi-fi and a very nice buffet breakfast. The staff is
polite and helpful. Next time we visit our student at Millikin I'll bring by swimsuit. The pool is much larger than the usual small square other hotels office. This is the third time we stayed at this hotel. It's simple, clean, and just fine! We've stayed at other places in and around Decatur when visiting our student. We see no reason to stay anywhere else in Decatur.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Putting together a Spring tour for a car club is not easy. (especially the Rolls-Royce Owners Club)

You have to find good accomodations that have good amenities as well as decent prices. The Decatur Conference Center offers that.

They DO accept pets (Dogs) but charge a one time fee for them ($35). ALL hotels should accomodate pets.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms. Try to get a package deal if you are staying with a group. Inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jacob, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another great weekend was spent at this hotel. The staff was very accomodating and worked hard to please everyone. The hotel is in the process of a extensive renovation and they are very excited to be updating the hotel. This is a great place to hold a meeting/convention. We will be back for other meetings.

Room Tip: Be sure to tell the staff of specific needs that you require when making your reservations. They wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights that I'd like to have back. Room was old and forgotten for years including decor, smell, furniture, bathroom etc. Ancient tube TV and no curved shower rod etc. Had no hot water the 1st morning, got the runaround from the front desk when I called. They said they'd send the repairman immediately. 30 minutes later no one had come and I had a meeting to get to. I was told that too many people at the hotel were all showering at the same time, nothing they could do. Housekeeping cleaned the bathroom but did not make the bed. The hotel food was simply not good, a shade below mediocre. Sorry I just cannot recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was at the Decatur Conference Center and Hotel for the IL DECA Career Development Conference. My chapter was on the 4th floor, Rooms 4143-4151(I specifically, was in 4145), and on the way up, someone commented that we were lucky to get the newly renovated rooms. After seeing the rooms, I had to agree, we had a very lovely room, clean and fresh. I found some time to explore between competition events and, though the lower floors looked a little bleak, it didn't look too bad.

I only managed to find a few things wrong. First, the coffee maker had some strange gunk in the water compartment. After investigating by checking the coffee makers in my classmates' rooms, I found that all of them had the gross gunk in it. Second, if someone knocks on the door opposite or adjacent to you, it sounds as if someone's knocking on YOUR door, which resulted in several awkward moments. Third, the toilets are pretty weak. The water pressure in the shower was fine though.

A few other things...The pool was freezing cold, but, as an avid swimmer, I didn't mind. Housekeeping was extremely friendly! I wish I caught the name of the two ladies I spoke too… Wi-fi was super slow, I gave up after there was no progress in loading my page after 5 minutes.

Overall, I think that, if you manage to snag a newly renovated room, it's a great place to stay! But you can actually get a larger room, a suite even, for the same price with free breakfast and better wi-fi across town.

Room Tip: 4th floor is newly renovated and pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decatur Conference Center and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decatur Conference Center and Hotel

Address: 4191 US 36 West (Wyckles Rd.), Decatur, IL 62522 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Location: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decatur Conference Center and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Illinois' premier conference center and hotel has 370 guest sleeping rooms 185 are recently remodeled, 19 suites, and 55,000 square feet of convertible meeting and banquet space, under one roof! The Decatur Conference Center and hotel is nestled on 28 acres and offers a wide variety of outdoor activities. The lush green space is suitable for many events in a park like setting which includes a stocked catch and release pond, sand volleyball, large pavilion with electricity, and features ample free parking. Our hotel has been voted Decatur's "Best Place" for wedding receptions by the Herald and Review for the last four consecutive years. Our award winning chef and attentive banquet team guarantees a first class experience that you and your guests will be talking about for years to come. While staying with us, enjoy our two onsite restaurants! The Fireside Grille is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner or join us in the Sports Zone Bar & Grill for an upbeat dining experience while watching your favorite sports program on 20 HD TV's including our 104" projection screen. The DCCH features rooms that fit every budget and offers great amenities such as our indoor swimming pool, 24 hour fitness and business centers, and complimentary wireless internet. We are conveniently located in the heart of Central Illinois. We offer easy access with over 50 flights a day within an hour's drive and connections to I-55, I-57, and I-72, making this the perfect venue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Decatur Conference Center and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decatur Hotel Decatur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.