We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asian restaurant with lots of entree choices -- I give it 5 stars for food quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Golden Bowl

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pho Golden Bowl
North Prospect Drive, Decatur, IL 62526
(217) 877-7880
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 143 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great asian restaurant with lots of entree choices -- I give it 5 stars for food quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This is a small restaurant that appears to be family-owned. The decor is not fancy but the staff is friendly, the menu quite varied and the food is excellent. I am a business traveler that has dined here with a large group every week for several months with never a bad experience. Large parties are not a problem since the long table in the center of the restaurant can accommodate at least 20 people. BYOB.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateway Arch Area St Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great authentic asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Typically the Asian food in America is a joke. Most of it is sweetened and made to please the corn syrup junkies that many of us have become. This place is different. Fresh vegetables, real rice noodles and properly sliced meat. Add in the homemade chile pastes, fish sauce and shrimp roll dip with crushed peanuts and I feel like I am back in Saigon. The soup is great and the shrimp rolls are the best I have had in America.

The atmosphere is not at all fancy but from my experience that really has nothing to do with the quality of the food. Expect the owners children to be around either studying or watching their pc's.

My wife is Chinese and we drive 30 miles one way to eat here. The best authentic Asian food in this part of Illinois.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Time to cleanse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Soup is an excellent way to cleanse those sinuses, and colon. I always go to this place more often during the cold weather, because of their soups. I go there during the summer months too, because of their good food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great change of pae, lots of selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stopped at this place while traveling through Decatur. A great alternative to a chain restaurant, and located just off Interstate 72, in the Walmart shopping center just south of the exit for route 51. Large portion sizes, we took some home. I'd stop here again when traveling this way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pho life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Love, I'm living in Decatur for only a few months its great to have comfort food! Love the pho peppery flavor heavy beef broth! Yumm spring tools and crispy spring rolls were fresh ingredients! Awesome! Keep it up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Golden Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Pho Golden Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Golden Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.