We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc.

Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc.
256 West Main Street, Decatur, IL 62523
217-422-3300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 143 Restaurants in Decatur
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe features preservative-free baked goods with a European flair, including real butter croissants, quiche, baguettes, ciabatta, foccacia, cakes, tarts, cookies, and more. Gourmet beverages include Marquis coffee, Lavazza espresso, Dr. Smoothie frozen coffees and smoothies, and China Mist tea. Soups served daily with fresh bread.
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great coffee, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This coffee is much better than Starbucks or Panera's IMO. They also have very good sandwiches and salads. Love the bakery treats. The carrot cake is fantastic. The baked goods come from a wholesaler in Champaign, Pekaro (or something like that). They have an antique mall downstairs that has cute stuff. It is a nice place for lunch or a quick break. Very cute atmosphere with vintage kitchen elements and new art. Don't be in a hurry if you are getting lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colona, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quaint place near downtown. Servers were friendly, and gave great service. I had half chicken salad sandwich which was delicious and a cup of chicken and wildrice soup, that was okay. Place is a little cramped at the entrance, making getting in and out interesting. You order at the counter which is just inside the door, making traffic flow a problem if there is even a small line. Definitely not handdicapped accessible! Atmosphere is kind of bohemian, with antiques scattered throughout. Would go there again, but definitely a "chick" place, don't think most men would enjoy the menu. Nice to see a place run by locals with excellent service and good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForEire, Owner at Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc., responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! I appreciate hearing feedback about our place - especially regarding areas where we can improve.

I understand your comments about the bottleneck at the front entrance. We share your frustration and are working to address your concerns. We are in the process of expanding and revamping our store and hope to soon move the counter and add table service for breakfast and lunch patrons. This should alleviate some of the congestion at the counter.

We will soon be handicapped accessible via a street level entrance to our tea room seating area. We are in the final stages of work on two handicapped accessible bathrooms on this level and hope to have the work complete by mid-February (2013). Unfortunately, there is no way we can afford to make the main floor of the coffee shop or the basement antique mall accessible. Our pockets aren't deep enough to add an elevator to this 100-year old building.

We are also working hard to dispel the image that we are just a place for ladies who lunch. We feature a heartier Wednesday Men's Day lunch menu and we serve some pretty stout espresso. Actually, we find many men enjoy our soups and sandwiches made on freshly-baked artisan breads - and yes, many "real men" also enjoy our quiche selections. :) So, don't be afraid to bring menfolk to Wildflour! And we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Charming outside and inside - love the old building put to good use. I've enjoyed breakfast quiche, soup, chicken salad sandwich and several baked goods - all were delicious... but what keeps me coming back is a cup of the Chai tea latte! Nice to have a downtown "coffee shop" and bakery (and tables outside to enjoy a lovely day). Perfect for breakfast or lunch dates or just a quick latte!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good little place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great soups and sandwiches, as well as baked goods. There is no way a handicapped person can get in. I experienced this when I had some foot surgery. Parking can be a bit of a problem on occasion, but you can park in the back and enter from the back door. Nice folks run the place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForEire, Owner at Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc., responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. I want to let you know that we are working toward becoming accessible. We are currently seeking financing to complete an addition that will add street level access and handicapped accessible restrooms to our cafe. In the meantime, we would be happy to accommodate anyone who is unable to access our main dining floor. Call 217-422-3300 and we will provide curbside carryout service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“business owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The breads, pastries, and cakes are delicious, I would recommend it to my family, friends, neighbors, and strangers. The location looks like you are going inside a historic / western atmosphere or back in the old days. I love that place and the help are courteous and ready to serve you.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildflour Artisan Bakery & Cafe Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.