We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping and walking trails.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shabbona Lake State Park

Shabbona Lake State Park
4201 Shabbona Grove Rd., DeKalb, IL 60550
815.824.2106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in DeKalb
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Hinckley, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great camping and walking trails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We loved camping here, especially in the fall. There is a restaurant in the park and the rest rooms at the campground are good. Views of the lake are beautiful and there is lots of camping in the woods. Over all, a great campground not too far from Chicago, but it fills up fast. We would go out on Wednesday with our camper and set up in order to have a great site for the weekend! Fishing is good also. Nature at it's best in the country.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“No better place for a family picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place where we have had many family picnics that started with breakfast and lasted through dinner. Beautiful surroundings. Fireworks over the lake are a great experience as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb,IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“busy lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice place to go for a day, family friendly. The fishing can be good but you need to have a boat to really do well. Personally feel the lake is a bit overfished.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is one great fishing lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We fished there 5/11/2013. It was a rough day to fish - Cold - Very windy. I caught 4 Large Mouthed Bass and a few Crappie. The guy that owns the bait shop is nice and knowledgeable beyond words. There is a restaurant on the property and the food is very good and reasonable $$$.

Check it out at:

http://shabbonalake.com/index.php/fishing/

Mike

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great day on the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were part of a two family group that rented a pontoon boat for the day. It was very enjoyable and relaxing to just enjoy the beautiful summer day. My only advice for pontoon rental is to NOT reserve it for 1/2 day as we made several laps around the lake in that time. 1 to 2 hours would have been plenty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shabbona Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Shabbona Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shabbona Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.