We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Food and Barbecue!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe

Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe
8025 S Cass Avenue, Darien, IL 60561
331-431-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Darien
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cass Ave & Iroquois Street
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Southern Food and Barbecue!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been to Chuck's in Burbank several times after we saw the review on Check Please. So glad he opened the Darien location, so much closer. The best ribs I ever had--meaty and juicy with choice of sides. The baked beans are special in a spicy sauce with some meat in them. The pulled pork and barbecue wings are also very good. Chuck worked with Rick Bayless and has several Mexican dishes on the menu. They also have this special Mexican coffee that I haven't found anywhere else. We got seated right away and had good service, our waiter was very informative about the menu and the beers. Save room room for the dessert, many options. Large portions and well priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“S L O W”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What should have been no more than an hour for a sit down dinner, turned into an hour and 45 minutes. It was not crowded (Saturday 8/31) approx 6:15pm. We waited less than 10 minutes for a table. Pulled BBQ chicken sandwich was verrrry dry and crumbly and chopped, not pulled. My husband did enjoy his BBQ Beef Brisket and our friend had the Jumbalaya which he said was good. The side of cole slaw was a few cabbage shreds in a bowl of liquid. Garlic mashed potatoes were decent (they were not hot either) The service was extremely slow, the server not knowledgeable about the menu items, or the beer list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you like Southern food, BBQ, and all the accompaniments, this is the place. Located conveniently off I-55, the restaurant is new to this location, but has been serving great food in Burbank for years. Daily specials are scheduled a month in advance so you can pick the day to indulge your passion.
Great portions, freshly prepared, and desserts are fabulous. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

On a recent road trip across the midwest a friend and I stopped at Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe for lunch. Immediately we were welcomed at the front podium and quickly seated in a comfortable booth. My pulled pork sandwich was tasty and had the tangy taste of a vinegary BBQ sauce that is my favorite. You could either order just the pork sandwich or with side dishes at an extra cost. The sandwich more than filled me up and the side dishes were unncessary, for me at least.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe also viewed

Darien, DuPage County
Darien, DuPage County
 
Darien, DuPage County
 

Been to Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.