We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with a budget feel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   389 Lynch Drive, Danville, IL 61834 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Danville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced with a budget feel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a budget motel with indoor hallways and a (scary) elevator. My room was simply okay--the room smelled like cleanser/bleach when I first entered but that cleared after I opened the window. The bed felt a bit soft but the sheets were crisp and clean. Unfortunately, the parking lot lights were aimed towards the building and shined brightly through the curtains all night. There was only one ice machine, downstairs at the far end of the first floor. The indoor pool looked a bit stagnant. This property apparently has changed names several times, and feels more low-priced than I expect from Red Roof Inns. I felt safe and slept okay, and the staff were all friendly, but the run down feel of the place made it overpriced. This intersection has several motels and fast food, convenient to the interstate.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No complaints with the room, it was as expected in the price range although the towels were a bit thread bare, Breakfast was average with the biscuits more like hockey pucks than biscuits.

The big issue here was staff. I do not believe the clerk at check in could have been less friendly or less helpful if she tried.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The accommodations were very nice. No complaints there. But our room was on the first floor, and noise from the room above was a problem. The occupants weren't having a party. They were just walking around as anyone would need to do. Unfortunately, the footsteps were heard loud and clear in our room, late at night. Obviously there is no insolation between floors. There are many other motels in the area. We would try one of those next trip.

Note to foodies: On Easter morning, hubby really enjoyed their hot breakfast, complete with biscuits & gravy. Not sure if it was special because of the holiday, but it saved us competing with crowds at the local diners.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. I am sorry that you did not have a quiet stay here. Unfortunately as the hotel fills guests do start to hear the other guests moving around. I apologize that you had to experience this. I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy our breakfast, this is the breakfast that we provide every morning, not just on special events. We hope to have you visit our facility again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

stayed one night after staying at the BWRS in town. The only reason we changed hotels is we wanted a little more room just to hang out with friends and family and the Red Roof had more space to do that in the lobby area. The hotel was ok the room was over priced at 94 dollars as they raised the rate because of a couple sporting events going on in town. The staff was helpful but very unprofessional as they went right out side the front door to smoke and did not clean out the butts that were just laying on the sidewalk. I am not against smoking but doing it in front of the enterence to the hotel is not the best idea. Breakfast was somewhat limited but was ok. When staying again would most likely choose a different place for not other reason then to try a different place.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are glad that you decided to try a stay in our facility. I'm sorry that you had to experience an unpleasant entry into our hotel. I can assure you that we have corrected this problem as far as employees smoking at the front entrance. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Stayed here for two nights while back in town for a funeral. First impression of the room was good. Furniture and bath is typical of what you would see at mid-range hotels like Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn. It was all clean, and the bed was comfortable. The next morning I noticed that structurally the building is a bit on the cheap side. Wooden floor was uneven and "bouncy". Popped drywall seams in the corner. Long cracks and missing texture in the ceiling.

Shower was good... but the towels were cheap and thin. For the price I was willing to overlook most of this, until later that night.

Came back in through a deserted lobby - desk clerk never even looked up from her phone to acknowledge me... Strike 1. Got to my room - it had not been cleaned or even touched... Strike 2. Then just before 9am I was awakened by someone slamming my door into the slide lock... Strike 3!

It was only a few dollars cheaper than other choices in the same area, so next time I will definitely stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hang the "Do Not Disturb" sign up if you want to sleep later than 7 or 8am!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm sorry you had to experience an unpleasant stay. Thank you for bringing to our attention ways we can improve. We have taken proper steps to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danville hotels

Sallisaw, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Room was without towells, I had to go to the check in desk and ask for them. Clerk claimed not to have a king room available, parking lot appeared to only have a few vehicles in it though, so think she was just being contrary. Breakfast was just the same old bare minimum stuff. The heat would keep running no matter what the temp was set on, finally just turned on the ac (18° outside). The room was clean and the beds were comfortable though.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our stay. Please keep in mind that looks can be deceiving, as there may not have been many vehicles in our lot that can't accurately show how many rooms we have sold. We have quite a few companies staying with us that are doing work in the area so their vehicles are not always here at peak hours of guest arrivals. We do have a lot just to the south side of our facility that offers ample truck parking. I do apologize for the lack of towels in your room and we have taken steps to assure that doesn't happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

This hotel has its ups and downs. Price is not bad. Breakfast was horrible Monday morning right b4 our departure. Seriously no o.j., no bagels (but hey had cream cheese), no GRAVY, no frosted flakes, no bananas, & only regular flavored oatmeal. Might not seem big deal to some. But breakfast is most important part of my day. And with all my favorite brkfst food being empty, it made my 4 star opinion turn to a very low 3 star, almost 2!!! Lastly older gentleman and lady at front desk clearly "speaking" their differences loudly while we were trying to pick at our breakfast!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm sorry to hear that your visit was not up to your standards. We have taken corrective measure to ensure this does not happen again in the future and that every guest has the best experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL

Address: 389 Lynch Drive, Danville, IL 61834 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Danville)
Location: United States > Illinois > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn is conveniently located off of I-74 and offers a free continental breakfast, Free WiFi and Flat Screen TV's. All rooms have In-Room Coffee. The inn is close to attractions such as Branch County Fairgrounds and Hillsdale College as well as many restaurants. The Outlet Shoppes at Fremont are only a 20 minute drive away and Michigan International Speedway is only 40 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Danville
Fairfield Danville
Danville Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville, IL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.