We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 E Gate Dr, Danville, IL 61832   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Easy to find and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Another great experience at a Holiday Inn Express. The room was very clean and comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows and plenty of towels. Like how they offer cranberry juice in the morning as well. We had a great stay and would return.
NOT a reflection of the hotel as there are a lot of hotels at this exit so they all have this in common but the only restaurant close by is Big Boy which looked nice. Appeared fast food places were a couple miles away but most were about 7-8 miles away by the mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
8
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
peosta, ia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice, well kept hotel, rooms come with refridge and microwave, comfy beds. pool and jaccuzzi were very nice and relaxing. Short drive to some nice resturants. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. internet access was easy to use and to connect.

Room Tip: right off I74 makes it easy to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely love this place. Great place to relax and enjoy the pool. My friend and I stay here because Danville is the half way point between Our two houses. The kids really enjoyed the pool while we relaxed pool side and caught up. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is okay for a quick bite.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I generally break up my reviews into sections, then give a rating for each section, then average the sections. Not perfectly scientific or fair, but it's pretty close. My ratings are 0 to 5 stars. Also know that I give all hotels worldwide the same consideration, I don't make exceptions for small towns as I don't think that is fair.

General Hotel - This is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express so it is pretty much the same design you'd find all over the country. The facility is in good shape and the property was clean and well cared for.
Rating - 4 Stars

Staff - Super friendly and accommodating. I didn't have any problems or special circumstances so I didn't see what they were like in a tough situation, but I suspect they'd be nice and efficient.
Rating - 4 Starts

Location - This is a tough one since if one must travel to Danville one is already in a less than desirable location. However, if you stay in Danville this is one of the worst places to stay. Located off I-74 just inside the Illinois border there is really nothing around. There are several hotels of similar quality and worst, a gas station and a Big Boy. The Big Boy is the only restaurant. This makes it tough to grab a quick bite and do some work from the hotel. About the only alternative is to order a pizza.
Rating - 1 Star

Room - Decent room. Average Holiday Inn Express and on par with other hotels in this class. Crappy in-room coffee and tea. The shower curtain was a big scrungy, and I hate rooms that don't have windows that open. Still pretty much par of the course for a hotel like this.
Rating - 3 Stars

Bed - I rate the bed as an individual category since it is so important. This one was fine, not great but fine. I slept ok.
Rating - 3 Stars

Breakfast - Although this is a typical breakfast at Holiday Inns this one underachieved even for Holiday Inn. Most of the items seemed 'left over' from the previous day, and the breakfast was the same on repeating days. Aren't they supposed to rotate? There is little healthy and little for vegetarians save some really stale cereal. The coffee and milk was frequently out and the orange juice was undrinkable.
Rating - 1 Star

Environment - This is the most shocking section. Most hotels have at least a towel re-use policy. It this hotel has one I didn't see any evidence and despite my hanging up of the towels they got replaced each day. In addition there were disposable cups and plates everywhere. Especially Styrofoam. Does this hotel have a special deal with the makers of Styrofoam? This is the worse thing that one could put in a landfill, yet it's everywhere in this hotel. There is also zero recycling or composting and light switches aren't timed motion switches. This hotel fails completely in this category.
Rating - 0 Stars

Overall Rating:
2.28 Stars so this rounds down to 2 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid having to travel to Danville
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danville hotels

penfield, il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I want to thank the girls for there excellent care during my stay at the hotel. My husband i will only stay there because of the friendly service. The room was very clean and it was like being at home. again i want to thank the girls and Rita for the friendly service and for making our stay fell like home!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean rooms and commons areas as I've come to expect from HIE. It is right off the interstate but all that is nearby are other hotels. Granted Danville isn't large and luckily the front desk staff was willing to give directions and recommendations for places to eat. Traveled with my 13 yr old nieces and got a room right by the pool which was great. Pool area was clean and no strong chlorine smell though the water was a bit murky. My only real complaint is the "hot tub" was colder than the pool. (I was told there had been a storm the night before when I asked about it.) Breakfast was standard HIE fare - nothing fancy, but a variety of good options. If I'm ever in town again or need a stop just off the highway would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Located just off the eastern interstate exit for Danville, this hotel is convenient although nothing spectacular. We arrived fairly late, after 8:30 p.m., and asked for a non smoking room and were assigned a room on the third floor. Unfortunately, that entire floor reeked strongly of cigarette smoke. We wondered if the floor was normally reserved for smokers. The morning breakfast included some awful prefabricated "omelets" filled with melted cheese food, in addition to more palatable dishes. Not a terrible experience, but not a great one, either.

Room Tip: If requesting a non smoking room, be sure to ask if the rest of the floor is non smoking, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville

Address: 310 E Gate Dr, Danville, IL 61832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Danville offers 72 interior corridor guest rooms, 24 suites with a 27' TV, electronic locks, two line phones with data port, indoor pool with hot tub, exercise room, meeting room, business center and convenience mart. Whirlpool Suites are also available. All guest rooms feature: micro-fridge, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Welcome to the newest hotel in Danville. Let us be your home away from home. Easy Access of Interstate 74. Minutes away from some of the best restaurants in the Midwest. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville Hotel Danville
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Danville
Holiday Inn Danville
Danville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Danville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.