We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Danville area Sleep Disturbed by Trains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Danville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Danville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Danville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Eastgate Drive, Danville, IL 61834   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best in Danville area Sleep Disturbed by Trains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The facility and staff were excellent. Very clean and well maintained. The staff was pleasant and willing to go the extra mile. The only downside was that on three different occassions between midnight and six in the morning, the loudest train whistles I have ever heard awakened me. The hotel can't help this, but it did disturb my sleep.

This hotel is located in an area called "Eastgate" which is approximately ten miles or at least a ten or fifteen minute drive east of Danville. There are several motels/hotels in that area that are newer than the two or three hotels that are located in the city of Danville. Alll of the motels/hotels at Eastgate have to deal with the noisy trains.

Their shower was different than typical Hampton. No tub, walk in shower stall with sliding glass doors, and a great shower head and pressure. Loved the shower, and the bed was great.

Eastgate is in an area without any evening entertainment, or dining beyond a couple of fast food franchises.

If you want a nice dinner, drive east on I-74 another five or so miles to teh Beef House Restaurant near Covington Indiana. NIce Salad Bar, and have built their reputation on quality beef. They have non-beef alternatives as well.

The hotels in Danville are the Best Western and Days Inn. The Trip Advisor reviews on those properties do not appear to be that good.

If I needed to stay in Danville again I would definitely stay at Hampton. If I just needed to stay in central Illinois and was able to drive 30-40 minutes I would choose to stay in Champaign IL. Not as run down as much as Danville, more to do, and significantly better restaurants/libations.

Room Tip: If you must stay in Danville this property is the best. The only negative was the three different tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Danville, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in the Danville area. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel! I am sorry that the train noise disturbed your sleep but glad to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas that we can control.

I hope we will see you here with us again at the Danville Hampton Inn & Suites. We truly appreciate you choosing us while in our area!

Melissa Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
36
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A nice clean Hampton Inn in an area where there aren't a lot of higher-end options. I was especially pleased with the staff. The breakfast area staff were very attentive to cleanliness in the area, and the cleaning staff had the room made up by 10:00 am. I would recommend this hotel if Danville is your destination.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Danville, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in the Danville area!

We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel and the staff. I will make sure to pass on your comments to our team, they really take pride in giving our guests a great stay and will be glad to hear that someone noticed!

Hope we will see you again soon at the Hampton Inn & Suites- Danville, IL!

Melissa Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Hampton Inn in Danville, IL is just off the Lynch Road exit next to the Holiday Inn. It's a bright beautiful new hotel with a nice fitness room, pool and hot tub. The rooms are very nice and come with a microwave and mini frig. Very stylish and comfortable.

The front desk staff where very helpful and the complimentary breakfast has a great variety.

Room Tip: Rooms have Microwave and mini frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Danville, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel!

I am glad you we exceeded your expectations and I hope we will see you again next time you travel thru our area!

Melissa Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We checked in around 8:30 PM on Friday night, We were in our room only a few minutes and I could see red toenail clippings (lots) all over the floor between the beds! I immediately called the front desk, she said she would be right up. Ten minutes later, I called her back, I insisited on a different room, after a long pause......she said to come downstairs and she would give us a different room. The next room was just a few rooms away from the first room, so I doubted if it had been cleaned much better. The room appeared to be clean but very worn,,,marks and smudges on the walls, just looked wore out amd dingey. The carpeting in the hallway was pretty filthy at the elevators and the throw rug in front of the front desk was absolutely filthy!
My husband called down for an early mornng wake up call, 4:45 AM, guess what, it never happened!
We were gone from sun up to sundown on Saturday for the race event which brought us to Danville, no time to move to another hotel.
Today, Sunday when we checked out, it was the original, not so helpful clerk. When we told her we were not 100% Hampton guarantee satifaction, she was disgruntled, eventually refunded one night, stating she can't refund anymore. So the moral of the story is.... move if you aren't satified, she didn't really care one little bit! I hope to be contacted by the manager, I would love to talk with him personally!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasey A, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Danville, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I’m also extremely sorry about the unpleasant service you received from our front desk staff. I’m currently looking into this. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is right off of I 74 as you are getting to Danville from the east. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were updated and very clean. Their front desk staff was very friendly and the breakfast was more than your standard standard free breakfast fare. The walk-in rate was affordable. I will stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a decent, clean hotel with only one real issue: We got a double-queen room and discovered that neither bed had nightstands or lights on both sides! Do they seriously think that couples don't sleep in the same bed when they wind up in a double-queen? Beyond that, nothing special: The breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn breakfast: good for a free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, IL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I had a hard time finding the drive to get back to the hotel. Staff was pleasant. Pool was nice but the air was hot.
Breakfast was very good, food was hot and there was a nice variety.
I was on the top floor and there were spots when I stepped that made a lot of noise. I felt bad for the people below me. Also. In the morning, I could here the room next to mine shower turning on and the other side room's tv.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Danville

Address: 370 Eastgate Drive, Danville, IL 61834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover hotels in Danville, IL, and book today at the Hampton Inn & Suites Danville. Offering easy access to I-74 and just minutes from outdoor activities and shopping, our hotel will make your stay in Danville a memorable one. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Danville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.